I want to talk about peace: (Luke 7:50) ‘And he said to the woman, Your faith has saved you; go in peace.’
‘I trust you Jesus. I know that no matter what happens today, You are with me. Comforting me strengthening me and loving me. Thank you for your precious love. It is like no other. Thank you for insights and revelation. Thank you for songs from my heart. Thank you for being found whenever I seek you. Help me continue to hear you more and more.’

 
I am still stuck on the peace I feel which is a free gift which comes from you that feels like a calm river washing over me warm and light. It is this peace that I want to sing about.

What is the peace of God like?
It is like being held as a child by a loving mother.
It is like a calming breath.
It is timeless and all worry ceases.

It is sure, protected and safe.
It is loved.
(Matt 5:9) Blessed are the peacemakers: for they shall be called the children of God.
Peace is first of all not me. God is leading me through this as He does every morning. I just listen.

I can not quiet myself. I try but it’s like repeating a phrase ‘serenity now’ over and over and only getting more irritated. This peace that passes understanding guards my heart.

Philippians 4:7 English Standard Version (ESV)
7 And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

God expands. He does not get bigger He never changes. But He changes me. I had to release what I thought He should say. I had to let go of trying to put Him in a box.

He expands my understanding of words.
What does peace mean?
He expands my heart and fills me with His love. Everything from God has His love in it.

His peace is full of love.

It does not occur alone or separate but is felt through intimacy with Him and demonstrated by intimacy with people. Serving them comforting them. This is real peace – to give peace in love.

To sacrifice myself and my selfishness so that someone else finds peace.
Isn’t this how creation was meant to be. If I want peace give peace.

When I get too excited and busy or too worried and sad, all I have to do is turn to Jesus and He is peaceful. He strokes my hair and says, ‘there, there.’

I had to accept His peace in order to obtain it. I only mean that He does it all. He softens my heart so that I can accept Him better – if I let Him. If I succumb in humility to His tremendous power which is very delicate.
I remember when I was young this mother of my friend Brian would always answer the phone by saying, ‘The peace of Christ be with you.” I was irritated by it and perplexed. I didn’t know why she did it. It seemed weird. Now 40 years later I am still impressed by it. How I want to answer my phone with that statement.

May the peace of Jesus Christ be with you.

 

 

sidebar = along with forgiving the woman her sins and sending her in Peace, Jesus teaches the pharisee He is with, Simon a little lesson:

(Luke 7:40 – 43) ‘And Jesus answering said unto him, Simon, I have something to say unto you. And he said, Teacher, say on. There was a certain creditor who had two debtors: the one owed five hundred pence, and the other fifty. And when they had nothing to pay, he frankly forgave them both. Tell me therefore, which of them will love him most? Simon answered and said, I suppose that he, to whom he forgave most. And he said unto him, You have rightly judged.’

Don’t ever think that I don’t love Jesus as much because I have not sinned a lot. I have sinned a lot. I have sinned more than anyone else. Why? Because breaking one law breaks the entire law. More than that though when I betray my friend and leave to serve other idols – it is a very sad thing.

‘Thank you Jesus for dying to reconcile me to God. Thank you for your love that flows richly over me and thank you for your peace which passes understanding.’

 

 

 

