‘God, it scares me how devoid I am without You. Help me not be afraid.’

 

Gen 3:10 (KJ2000) ” 10 And he said, I heard your voice in the garden, and I was afraid, because I was naked; and I hid myself. ”

 

Matt 14:24-27 (KJ2000) ” 24 But the ship was now in the midst of the sea, tossed with waves: for the wind was contrary. 25 And in the fourth watch of the night Jesus went unto them, walking on the sea. 26 And when the disciples saw him walking on the sea, they were troubled, saying, It is a spirit; and they cried out for fear. 27 But immediately Jesus spoke unto them, saying, Be of good cheer; it is I; be not afraid.”

For what reason did Jesus say not to be afraid?

Because it is Him.

Who is He?

Ten Character traits listed by What Christians Want to Know are:
Compassionate, Loving, Forgiving, Committed, Gentleness, Patience, Self-Control, and Humble.

https://www.whatchristianswanttoknow.com/10-character-traits-of-jesus-to-emulate/

 

I like this description of the opposites in Jesus:

“Particularly impressive to readers over the centuries has been what one writer has called “an admirable conjunction of diverse excellencies in Jesus Christ.”[i] That is, in him we see qualities and virtues we would ordinarily consider incompatible in the same person. We would never think they could be combined but, because they are, they are strikingly beautiful. Jesus combines high majesty with the greatest humility, he joins the strongest commitment to justice with astonishing mercy and grace, and he reveals a transcendent self-sufficiency and yet entire trust in and reliance upon his heavenly Father. We are surprised to see tenderness without any weakness, boldness without harshness, humility without any uncertainty, indeed, accompanied by a towering confidence. Readers can discover for themselves his unbending convictions but complete approach-ability, his insistence on truth but always bathed in love, his power without insensitivity, integrity without rigidity, passion without prejudice.”

-http://www.crosswalk.com/faith/bible-study/what-you-need-to-know-about-the-character-of-jesus.html

 

[i] Jonathan Edwards, “The Excellency of Jesus Christ,” in The Works of Jonathan Edwards: Sermons and Discourses 1734–1738, vol. 19, ed. M. X. Lesser (New Haven CT: Yale University Press, 2001), p. 565. The rest of the ideas in this paragraph are from this great sermon by Edwards.

 

I also like these 5 qualities from Dawn Klinge at https://www.dawnklinge.com/abovethewaves/5-qualities-that-make-jesus-the-good-shepherd.

“He is good”, “He protects”, “He guides”, “He nurtures”, and “He lays down his life”.

 

When I worry my self wants to think that I am worrying and that is ok so let me explore what I am worried about. The truth is worry in itself is a lack of faith. I am questioning the truth that Jesus is taking great care of me and will continue to do so no matter what.

If I have been through the worst situation then praise Jesus. I am alive and I am through it. If the worst situation is upon me then praise Jesus He is with me right now educating me and loving me during the difficulty. If the worst situation is some future situation that I am imagining then Jesus brings me back into relationship with Him where my faith grows and remains strong, Not even my faith but His strength is what matters,

 

I urge anyone who reads this to find characteristics of Jesus for themselves.

This is a beautiful and productive exercise. Too often I’d rather repeat the words that I am a child of God only to forget that this is a good thing only because God is so very good.

 

Here are two examples:
love expressed

Savior

 

Also a little humor:

muscle relax.jpg
Picture from http://www.quickmeme.com/meme/3sesdj

 

Jesus is my high anxiety muscle relaxer.

 

