There is a person I know who always is completely honest. His name is Jesus.

chinese_honesty-300x300

It is not an easy thing being told the truth but it is always a good thing.

 

 

Jas 3:13-18 (NET) ” 13 Who is wise and understanding among you? By his good conduct he should show his works done in the gentleness that wisdom brings. 14 But if you have bitter jealousy and selfishness in your hearts, do not boast and tell lies against the truth. 15 Such wisdom does not come from above but is earthly, natural, demonic. 16 For where there is jealousy and selfishness, there is disorder and every evil practice. 17 But the wisdom from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, accommodating, full of mercy and good fruit, impartial, and not hypocritical. 18 And the fruit that consists of righteousness is planted in peace among those who make peace.”

 

The words “without hypocrisy” in Greek are anupokritos.
Sincere also is the meaning for anupokritos.

*** 1Pet 1:21-23 (NET) ” 21 Through him you now trust in God, who raised him from the dead and gave him glory, so that your faith and hope are in God. 22 You have purified your souls by obeying the truth in order to show sincere mutual love. So love one another earnestly from a pure heart. 23 You have been born anew, not from perishable but from imperishable seed, through the living and enduring word of God.”

1Tim 1:5 (NET) ” 5 But the aim of our instruction is love that comes from a pure heart, a good conscience, and a sincere faith. ”

Matt 11:28-30 (ESV2011) ” 28 Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”

 

I have read this verse many times and have missed the words ‘learn from me.’

 

How do I know Jesus is honest? Maybe God lies. I remember C.S. Lewis saying that either Jesus was a liar, insane or true.

I think it is up to each person to decide whether to believe Jesus or not. He did say difficult to believe things such as He is God.

I am more interested in the complete honesty that He shows me when I read the bible and when I am worshiping Him and praying with Him.

He rarely pulls a punch or holds back things about me that I know are true and that are not exactly the things I want to admit at the time.

For example, I will get convicted that I am not valuing Him enough. That other things have crept into my heart.
I don’t want to admit that I cared about anything other than Jesus, but He lets me know when I make mistakes in order to direct me back to the path of purity.

It is a beautiful thing being led by the great shepherd.

 

I am always glad for His guidance.

 

The places that He leads are safe green pastures.

 

 

Even the Pharisees knew Jesus was honest – Matt 22:16 (ESV2011) ” 16 And they sent their disciples to him, along with the Herodians, saying, “Teacher, we know that you are true and teach the way of God truthfully, and you do not care about anyone’s opinion, for you are not swayed by appearances. ”

 

Jesus is beyond any human I have ever experienced who claimed to be honest.

Jesus is the way:

John 14:5-6 (KJV) ” 5 Thomas saith unto him, Lord, we know not whither thou goest; and how can we know the way? 6 Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.”

 

He never lied and never will.
This is humanly impossible.
But with Jesus it is possible for us to become more and more like Him.

 

 

Matt 19:23-26 (KJV) ” 23 Then said Jesus unto his disciples, Verily I say unto you, That a rich man shall hardly enter into the kingdom of heaven. 24 And again I say unto you, It is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle, than for a rich man to enter into the kingdom of God. 25 When his disciples heard it, they were exceedingly amazed, saying, Who then can be saved? 26 But Jesus beheld them, and said unto them, With men this is impossible; but with God all things are possible.”

 

‘Father, help me not get distracted by riches but focus on You and Your kingdom. It is impossible for me to enter it. But with You all things are possible.’

 

