I strongly dislike long reads.
Mostly because I’m lazy. I enjoy  books but I know ahead of time I am committed to reading it. I enjoy the author and don’t expect to read it quickly.

In light of my dislike of length I have two versions of today’s post:

Short version:

 

‘Father, in Jesus’ Name, heal everyone of deafness who reads this. Let us hear Your Words.’

 

I thought about how a deaf person realizes that everyone else can hear and that they are missing something. Do they notice things that are not understandable like radios. Do they feel vibrations and wonder why people dance when the vibration is present. Do they feel their own vocal cords make vibrations that they can not hear?

 

The revelation is that something is not wrong with the world and all that doesn’t make sense to me. The revelation is that something is wrong with me. I am deaf.

It is a scary thought especially because there is nothing I can do about it. It is more comfortable for me to keep thinking everyone else is deaf and nothing is wrong with me.

 

Most of us find some friends to help just as the friends of the deaf man in Mark brought him to Jesus:
Mark 7:32-35 (KJ2000) ” 32 And they brought unto him one that was deaf, and had an impediment in his speech; and they besought him to put his hand upon him. 33 And he took him aside from the multitude, and put his fingers into his ears, and he spit, and touched his tongue; 34 And looking up to heaven, he sighed, and said unto him, Ephphatha, that is, Be opened. 35 And immediately his ears were opened, and the string of his tongue was loosed, and he spoke plainly.”

 

Long version:

Jesus can enlighten me. He is the light of the world. He can be the first sound I hear. He is the sound from heaven. He is the word. He is the Word of God.

ear3

This is the goal and the result:
Luke 24:25-27 (KJ2000) ” 25 Then he said unto them, O foolish ones, and slow of heart to believe all that the prophets have spoken: 26 Ought not Christ to have suffered these things, and to enter into his glory? 27 And beginning at Moses and all the prophets, he expounded unto them in all the scriptures the things concerning himself.”

 

Luke 24:32 (KJ2000) ” 32 And they said one to another, Did not our hearts burn within us, while he talked with us by the way, and while he opened to us the scriptures? ”

 

Luke 24:45-47 (KJ2000) ” 45 Then opened he their understanding, that they might understand the scriptures, 46 And said unto them, Thus it is written, and thus it was fit for Christ to suffer, and to rise from the dead the third day: 47 And that repentance and remission of sins should be preached in his name among all nations, beginning at Jerusalem.”

 

How to get there took several measures.

 

John 5:40 (KJ2000) ” 40 And you will not come to me, that you might have life. ”

The Greek word for come is G2064 ἔρχομαι erchomai (er’-khom-ai) v.
1. to come or go
{in a great variety of applications, literally and figuratively}
[middle voice of a primary verb (used only in the present and imperfect tenses, the others being supplied by a kindred (middle voice) eleuthomai el-yoo’-thom-ahee, or (active) eltho el’-tho, which do not otherwise occur)]
KJV: accompany, appear, bring, come, enter, fall out, go, grow, X light, X next, pass, resort, be set
(Mickelson’s Enhanced Strong’s Greek and Hebrew Dictionaries)

 

John 1:9-14 (KJ2000) ” 9 That was the true Light, that lights every man that comes into the world. 10 He was in the world, and the world was made by him, and the world knew him not. 11 He came unto his own, and his own received him not. 12 But as many as received him, to them gave he power to become the children of God, even to them that believe on his name: 13 Who were born, not of blood, nor of the will of the flesh, nor of the will of man, but of God. 14 And the Word was made flesh, and dwelt among us, (and we beheld his glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father,) full of grace and truth.”

The word received is lambano (lam-ban’-o) in Greek and means
1. (actively) to take
2. (passively) to receive
3. (objectively) to get hold of (with the hand)
{in very many applications (literally and figuratively); whereas G1209 is rather subjective or passive, to have offered to one; while G138 is more violent, to seize or remove}
[a prolonged form of a primary verb, which is use only as an alternate in certain tenses]
KJV: accept, + be amazed, assay, attain, bring, X when I call, catch, come on (X unto), + forget, have, hold, obtain, receive (X after), take (away, up) (Mickelson’s Enhanced Strong’s Greek and Hebrew Dictionaries)

 

 

Let me introduce you to Jesus…

 

He is full of grace and truth Jn 1:15.

 

The word Know is from the Greek G1097 γινώσκω ginosko (ghin-oce’-ko) v.
1. to “know” (absolutely)
{in a great variety of applications and with many implications (as follow, with others not thus clearly expressed)}
[a prolonged form of a primary verb]
KJV: allow, be aware (of), feel, (have) know(-ledge), perceived, be resolved, can speak, be sure, understand (Mickelson’s Enhanced Strong’s Greek and Hebrew Dictionaries)

 

 

Jas 1:5-8 (KJ2000) ” 5 If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask of God, who gives to all men liberally, and reproaches not; and it shall be given him. 6 But let him ask in faith, nothing wavering. For he that wavers is like a wave of the sea driven with the wind and tossed. 7 For let not that man think that he shall receive anything of the Lord. 8 A double-minded man is unstable in all his ways.”

How does a blind man make himself see? He can not.
How does an unbeliever believe? He can not.

But Jesus.
Jesus can.
Jesus is the light of the world.

John 1:12-13 (KJ2000) ” 12 But as many as received him, to them gave he power to become the children of God, even to them that believe on his name: 13 Who were born, not of blood, nor of the will of the flesh, nor of the will of man, but of God.”

Try this exercise. Do I think God will give me wisdom if I ask Him to?
Sure, why not, and I’ll try it, are good answers.

Yes is the best answer…

 

Jas 1:17-22 (KJ2000) ” 17 Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, and comes down from the Father of lights, with whom is no variableness, neither shadow of turning. 18 Of his own will begat he us with the word of truth, that we should be a kind of firstfruits of his creatures. 19 Therefore, my beloved brethren, let every man be swift to hear, slow to speak, slow to anger: 20 For the anger of man works not the righteousness of God. 21 Therefore put away all filthiness and extreme wickedness, and receive with meekness the engrafted word, which is able to save your souls. 22 But be you doers of the word, and not hearers only, deceiving your own selves.”

 

How do I be swift to hear?

Am I ready to hear?

“You are my hiding place and my shield; I wait for Your word.”
Psalm 119:114 NASB

 

If someone promotes what someone is saying but I can’t hear it, is what they are saying messed up or am I messed up? How can I tell?

If I am deaf, how do I know what it’s like to hear?

 

‘You are my hiding place and my shield; I wait for Your word.’
Psalm 119:114 NASB

 

Isa 29:24 (KJ2000) ” 24 They also that erred in spirit shall come to understanding, and they that murmured shall learn doctrine. ”

 

Isa 29:8 (KJ2000) ” 8 It shall even be as when a hungry man dreams, and, behold, he eats; but he awakes, and his soul is empty: or as when a thirsty man dreams, and, behold, he drinks; but he awakes, and, behold, he is faint, and his soul has appetite: so shall the multitude of all the nations be, that fight against mount Zion. ”

 

Exod 4:10-12 (KJ2000) ” 10 And Moses said unto the LORD, O my Lord, I am not eloquent, neither before, nor since you have spoken unto your servant: but I am slow of speech, and of a slow tongue. 11 And the LORD said unto him, Who has made man’s mouth? or who makes the dumb, or deaf, or the seeing, or the blind? have not I the LORD? 12 Now therefore go, and I will be with your mouth, and teach you what you shall say.”

 

Mark 7:34-35 (KJ2000) ” 34 And looking up to heaven, he sighed, and said unto him, Ephphatha, that is, Be opened. 35 And immediately his ears were opened, and the string of his tongue was loosed, and he spoke plainly.

The words ‘ be opened’ are dianoigo (dee-an-oy’-go) v. which means
1. to open thoroughly
2. (literally) as a first-born
3. (figuratively) to expound
KJV: open Mickelson’s Enhanced Strong’s Greek and Hebrew Dictionaries)

 

Definition from http://www.biblestudytools.com/lexicons/greek/kjv/dianoigo.html

“1 to open by dividing or drawing asunder, to open thoroughly (what had been closed)
a male opening the womb (the closed matrix), i.e. the first-born
b of the eyes and the ears
c to open the mind of one, i.e. to cause to understand a thing
1 to open one’s soul, i.e. to rouse in one the faculty of understanding or the desire of learning”

 

Luke 24:45-47 (KJ2000) ” 45 Then opened he their understanding, that they might understand the scriptures, 46 And said unto them, Thus it is written, and thus it was fit for Christ to suffer, and to rise from the dead the third day: 47 And that repentance and remission of sins should be preached in his name among all nations, beginning at Jerusalem.

 

In summary I need to be thoroughly open to Jesus. I need to get to know Him which includes knowing about Him but more so finding Him and opening my heart to Him.
I need to receive Him.
I need to come to Him or grow up toward Him.

Everything I do is nothing. For all my trying and striving what I learned is that I am deaf and i can not heal myself.
‘ I need You Jesus, touch me and heal my ears so that I can hear Your Word.’

 

PS. I am not saying that a deaf person is not complete or unloveable. I am saying that I am spiritually deaf and in need of healing.

Cool article on deaf dogs: https://deafdogsrock.com/in-the-news
Bible in sign language: http://www.bible.is/deaf/ASESLV/Matt/1
also https://deaf.bible/bible/downloads
one more: https://www.handspeak.com/word/search/index.php?id=192

