Believe.jpg
Picture from http://kespres.ca/

I remember an early experience I had with it where I read this ‘tract’ that said put Jesus on the throne of your heart. I thought I would try it and Jesus blessed my decision.
I felt forgiven like I hadn’t in a long time. I was a teenager. I was walking and I found the tract on the ground.

 

Pray ‘God bless this prayer time with you. Help me concentrate on you and not get distracted.’

Don’t click it is a distraction right now.

Forgiveness is a great way to get closer to Jesus.  I very much desire to  be forgiven by Him but I must forgive also.

Matt 6:14&15 (NIV) = “14 For if you forgive other people when they sin against you, your heavenly Father will also forgive you. 15 But if you do not forgive others their sins, your Father will not forgive your sins.”

 

What stands out most to me is my surrendering. I must not use the time or take credit for what God does. I must give Him the credit and appreciate His blessings. He is the one who turns my heart toward Him. I just give permission.

A great exercise for me is to let the Holy Spirit point out what I am harboring and keeping grudges about so that I can forgive the people who have hurt me in the past and present.

 

How can I believe that the God of all things would forgive someone like me?
The answer is that I can’t. I require His intervention.

I must rely on Him. My inner reaction is one of rebellion, disbelief and running away.
This doesn’t make sense so I abandon it.

‘Jesus I am truly sorry for my habitual running away from You. I do not want this to be my way of life. I want Your way above my stinking ways. Please forgive me and give me the strength to change bad habits and do better by Your power and grace not my struggling and failing,’

 

2 things occur to me. If I have a sincere singleness, God can meet me.
First singleness. I must want Jesus more than patching my insecurity and more than making money or anything else that seems more important than Him.
Second sincerity. I must admit that I did wrong. I did decide to follow foolish distractions instead of focusing on Him and Him alone.

Jesus is so good.
He knows me and He loves me anyway.

I highly recommend reading Psalm 139.

 

