Exod 34:19 (KJ2000) ” 19 All that opens the womb is mine; and every firstling among your cattle, whether ox or sheep, that is male. ”

 

Deut 26:2 (KJ2000) ” 2 That you shall take of the first of all the fruit of the earth, which you shall bring of your land that the LORD your God gives you, and shall put it in a basket, and shall go unto the place which the LORD your God shall choose to place his name there. ”

fruit.jpg

Deut 26:10-11 (KJ2000) ” 10 And now, behold, I have brought the firstfruits of the land, which you, O LORD, have given me. And you shall set it before the LORD your God, and worship before the LORD your God: 11 And you shall rejoice in every good thing which the LORD your God has given unto you, and unto your house, you, and the Levite, and the stranger that is among you.”

Deut 26:12-19 (KJ2000) ” 12 When you have finished tithing all the tithes of your increase the third year, which is the year of tithing, and have given it unto the Levite, the stranger, the fatherless, and the widow, that they may eat within your gates, and be filled; 13 Then you shall say before the LORD your God, I have removed the sacred portion out of my house, and also have given them unto the Levite, and unto the stranger, to the fatherless, and to the widow, according to all your commandments which you have commanded me: I have not transgressed your commandments, neither have I forgotten them: 14 I have not eaten of it in my mourning, neither have I taken away any of it for any unclean use, nor given any of it for the dead: but I have hearkened to the voice of the LORD my God, and have done according to all that you have commanded me. 15 Look down from your holy habitation, from heaven, and bless your people Israel, and the land which you have given us, as you swore unto our fathers, a land that flows with milk and honey. 16 This day the LORD your God has commanded you to do these statutes and judgments: you shall therefore keep and do them with all your heart, and with all your soul. 17 You have declared the LORD this day to be your God, and to walk in his ways, and to keep his statutes, and his commandments, and his judgments, and to hearken unto his voice: 18 And the LORD has declared you this day to be his peculiar people, as he has promised you, and that you should keep all his commandments; 19 And to make you high above all nations which he has made, in praise, and in name, and in honor; and that you may be a holy people unto the LORD your God, as he has spoken.”

 

Ruth 1:16-18 (KJ2000) ” 16 And Ruth said, Entreat me not to leave you, or to return from following after you: for where you go, I will go; and where you lodge, I will lodge: your people shall be my people, and your God my God: 17 Where you die, will I die, and there will I be buried: the LORD do so to me, and more also, if anything but death parts you and me. 18 When she saw that she was steadfastly minded to go with her, then she ceased speaking unto her.”

 

Ruth 2:11-13 (KJ2000) ” 11 And Boaz answered and said unto her, It has fully been shown me, all that you have done unto your mother-in-law since the death of your husband: and how you have left your father and your mother, and the land of your birth, and are come unto a people which you knew not before. 12 The LORD recompense your work, and a full reward be given you of the LORD God of Israel, under whose wings you have come to trust. 13 Then she said, Let me find favor in your sight, my lord; for you have comforted me, and you have spoken kindly unto your handmaid, though I be not like unto one of your handmaidens.”

Ruth 3:5 (KJ2000) ” 5 And she said unto her, All that you say unto me I will do. ”

Ruth 3:11 (KJ2000) ” 11 And now, my daughter, fear not; I will do to you all that you require: for all the city of my people does know that you are a virtuous woman. ”

 

Ruth 4:13 (KJ2000) ” 13 So Boaz took Ruth, and she was his wife: and when he went in unto her, the LORD gave her conception, and she bore a son. ”

 

And Ruth became part of the lineage of Jesus. A Moabite. or pagan worshipping other gods.

Ruth 4:15-17 (KJ2000) ” 15 And he shall be unto you a restorer of your life, and a nourisher of your old age: for your daughter-in-law, who loves you, who is better to you than seven sons, has borne him. 16 And Naomi took the child, and laid it in her bosom, and became nurse unto it. 17 And the women her neighbors gave it a name, saying, There is a son born to Naomi; and they called his name Obed: he is the father of Jesse, the father of David.”

Ruth’s son Obed was David’s grandfather.

Luke 1:38 (KJ2000) ” 38 And Mary said, Behold the handmaid of the Lord; be it unto me according to your word. And the angel departed from her. ”

 

Luke 3:31-32 (KJ2000) ” 31 Who was the son of Melea, who was the son of Menna, who was the son of Mattatha, who was the son of Nathan, who was the son of David, 32 Who was the son of Jesse, who was the son of Obed, who was the son of Boaz, who was the son of Salmon, who was the son of Nahshon,

 

Notice Obed son of Boaz

Matt 1:5 (KJ2000) ” 5 And Salmon begat Boaz of Rahab; and Boaz begat Obed of Ruth; and Obed begat Jesse; ”

 

 

 

Give to God what is God’s.
That would be everything. But in particular the first fruits.
And the gleaning to the poor. What is God’s also give to the poor.

Give God credit.

Who converted Ruth? God.
Who provides the fruit? God.

Who has given us everything? God.
So offer at least a tenth of everything to Him.

 

I need to be faithful in devoting a tenth of my time, a tenth of my talent, and a tenth of my treasure to God.

 

Mark 12:17 (KJ2000) ” 17 And Jesus answering said unto them, Render to Caesar the things that are Caesar’s, and to God the things that are God’s. And they marveled at him. ”

 

Heb 7:1-4 (KJ2000) ” 1 For this Melchizedek, king of Salem, priest of the most high God, who met Abraham returning from the slaughter of the kings, and blessed him; 2 To whom also Abraham gave a tenth part of all; first being by interpretation King of righteousness, and after that also King of Salem, which is, King of peace; 3 Without father, without mother, without descent, having neither beginning of days, nor end of life; but made like unto the Son of God; abides a priest continually. 4 Now consider how great this man was, unto whom even the patriarch Abraham gave the tenth of the spoils.”

What is this connection between Ruth and Mary?

Ruth 1:20 (KJ2000) ” 20 And she said unto them, Call me not Naomi, call me Mara: for the Almighty has dealt very bitterly with me. ”

None. It is Naomi who calls herself  Mara which is a bad thing. Not delighting in Jesus.
Naomi however does a good thing in accepting Ruth and apprentice-ing Ruth. Giving her helpful advice and showing her how to get ahead in the society. Both – scheming to live. They gleaned and they planned to move toward Boaz. The plan was God ordained and I think what Naomi did right was listening to God through it all.

Naomi tells Ruth what to do (just like Jesus tells us)
And Ruth does it.

Ruth 3:5 (KJ2000) ” 5 And she said unto her, All that you say unto me I will do. ”

Ruth is not like Mary because one is Jewish and one is Moabite. But they are related because Lot was related. The Moabites are like Jews gone astray by worshiping all kinds of other gods.

Ruth is not like Mary because Naomi is the one who was sad.

Ruth is like Mary because she obeyed.

‘Jesus, take all the first fruits in my life. Help me to be more faithful about this. The first 2.5 hours of the day. the first tenth of all I earn and all the extra things that come. the first song I play out of ten other songs. The first blog post out of ten. All these belong to you. Always the first thing that opens a womb is yours. You have opened my womb and I love you and Honor You. You are the supply of all things good. You are the maker and provider of all I need.’

 

 

 

