I’m not bragging anyone’s can.

 

One of my concerns is that the body is physical and Jesus is spiritual. So how do these things reconcile?

‘Thank you, Jesus, for letting the things of this earth drip off of me. Thank you for leading me and healing me.’

 

Matt 6:19-25 (KJ2000) ” 19 Lay not up for yourselves treasures upon earth, where moth and rust does corrupt, and where thieves break through and steal: 20 But lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust does corrupt, and where thieves do not break through nor steal: 21 For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also. 22 The light of the body is the eye: if therefore your eye be sound, your whole body shall be full of light. 23 But if your eye be evil, your whole body shall be full of darkness. If therefore the light that is in you be darkness, how great is that darkness! 24 No man can serve two masters: for either he will hate the one, and love the other; or else he will hold to the one, and despise the other. You cannot serve God and mammon. 25 Therefore I say unto you, Take no thought for your life, what you shall eat, or what you shall drink; nor yet for your body, what you shall put on. Is not life more than food, and the body than clothing?”

 

Material is not bad. It is bad if I love it more than things that are more important. Look at v. 25.
The body is worth more than clothes. So if I am buying name brand clothes while forgeting to eat right and exercise, something is out of order.

 

1John 2:15-17 (KJ2000) ” 15 Love not the world, neither the things that are in the world. If any man loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him. 16 For all that is in the world, the lust of the flesh, and the lust of the eyes, and the pride of life, is not of the Father, but is of the world. 17 And the world passes away, and the lust thereof: but he that does the will of God abides forever.”

 

‘Father help me be less distracted from You throughout this day.”

ABC can stand for anything but Christ. It is a word used to describe the culture I live in. I think it describes me. ‘Forgive me, Jesus.’
I need to confess and offer my distractions to Him. Only He can keep my eye be single.

 

Matt 6:21-22 (KJ2000) ” 21 For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also. 22 The light of the body is the eye: if therefore your eye be sound, your whole body shall be full of light.

 

Lets trace the idea of singleness through some verses by following word meanings.
The word sound is the Greek word haplous (hap-lous`) adj.
1. (properly) folded together, i.e. single
2. (figuratively) clear

 

Acts 2:44-46 (KJ2000) ” 44 And all that believed were together, and had all things common; 45 And sold their possessions and goods, and distributed them to all men, as every man had need. 46 And they, continuing daily with one accord in the temple, and breaking bread from house to house, did eat their food with gladness and sincerity of heart,”

The word singleness is aphelotes.

2Cor 11:3 (KJ2000) ” 3 But I fear, lest by any means, as the serpent beguiled Eve through his cunning, so your minds should be corrupted from the simplicity that is in Christ. ”

Simplicity is the word haplotes which means
1. singleness 2. (subjectively) sincerity (without dissimulation or self-seeking)
3. (objectively) generosity (copious bestowal)

 

Eph 6:5 (KJ2000) ” 5 Servants, be obedient to them that are your masters according to the flesh, with fear and trembling, in singleness of your heart, as unto Christ; ”

Singleness is the translation of the Greek word haplotes.

 

Col 3:22 (KJ2000) ” 22 Servants, obey in all things your masters according to the flesh; not with eye service, as men pleasers; but in singleness of heart, fearing God: ”

Notice this verse adds fearing God. Isn’t reverential worship and humble adoration and the fear of God part of keeping my eye on Him? I like to say eye because it is not the physical eyes. It is best if it is the spirit eye.

 

Ps 119:129-130 (KJ2000) ” 129 Pe Your testimonies are wonderful: therefore does my soul keep them. 130 The entrance of your words gives light; it gives understanding unto the simple.”

1Cor 13:12 (KJ2000) ” 12 For now we see in a mirror dimly; but then face to face: now I know in part; but then shall I know even as also I am known. ”

 

2Cor 4:1-11 (KJ2000) ” 1 Therefore seeing we have this ministry, as we have received mercy, we faint not; 2 But have renounced the hidden things of dishonesty, not walking in craftiness, nor handling the word of God deceitfully; but by manifestation of the truth commending ourselves to every man’s conscience in the sight of God. 3 But if our gospel be hid, it is hid to them that are lost: 4 In whom the god of this age has blinded the minds of them who believe not, lest the light of the glorious gospel of Christ, who is the image of God, should shine unto them. 5 For we preach not ourselves, but Christ Jesus the Lord; and ourselves your servants for Jesus’ sake. 6 For God, who commanded the light to shine out of darkness, has shined in our hearts, to give the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Jesus Christ. 7 But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us. 8 We are troubled on every side, yet not distressed; we are perplexed, but not in despair; 9 Persecuted, but not forsaken; cast down, but not destroyed; 10 Always bearing about in the body the dying of the Lord Jesus, that the life also of Jesus might be made manifest in our body. 11 For we who live are always delivered unto death for Jesus’ sake, that the life also of Jesus might be made manifest in our mortal flesh.”

 

Notice the interplay between body and mind and spirit in this passage:
The blinded minds from verse 4 can have the light shine into them. (unto)
Bodies can bear the dying of Jesus from verse 10.

The life of Jesus can be made manifest in our body.

This makes perfect sense but it is a worship worthy concept. ‘Jesus, use my body to accomplish Your will and make Your kingdom and presence felt here and now.”

 

Afterthoughts:
I really don’t understand in my brain how Jesus can use my body. Honestly, I am struck by the awesome goodness that Jesus would stoop so low as to even want to use me. I am amazed by how intimate He wants to be with me. I am humbled by His wisdom and abilities that are beyond my understanding.

 

It is not a difficult idea though. Here is an example. I decide to love my children so my body goes to the store buys some food and my body delivers it to the children. See, it is simple. My body is manifesting the love of Jesus by moving and being submissive to Him.

grocery food

picture from
http://www.oprffoodpantry.org/give

