‘Father, let my spirit rule over my brain by Your Holy Spirit’s power.’

I must be careful not to throw out a good gift that God has given me. In fact I like to be thankful for my body and all it can do. I also am thankful – thankful for the ability to reason. This is a gift from God used best under His supervision.

Reason is like a power tool. I need my dad to show me how to use it safely not let it go rampant.

the-tree-of-knowledge

Gen 2:16-17 (KJ2000) ” 16 And the LORD God commanded the man, saying, Of every tree of the garden you may freely eat: 17 But of the tree of the knowledge of good and evil, you shall not eat of it: for in the day that you eat thereof you shall surely die.”

Much has been made of this passage. Probably too many ideas not of the spirit. I think 2 things. One, that knowledge is good. and two that knowledge above listening to God is bad.

Gen 3:22 (KJ2000) ” 22 And the LORD God said, Behold, the man is become as one of us, to know good and evil: and now, lest he put forth his hand, and take also of the tree of life, and eat, and live forever: ”

This part is troubling to me. I have heard it said that God was being merciful not to let us live forever in an evil state, like being in hell. Which is what being without Him is actually like.

But how does not listening make us like God?
In acquiring knowledge, can I know everything except God?
It is difficult because of the two knowledges in my brain. I can know pieces of information and that is very limited. But I can know a person and that is intimate and beautiful. Perhaps this tree made me know myself too much. Like marrying myself and committing to loving only me and my self interests and my ideas without God.

I know something and have the misconception that I have gained power to know everything. What I have let myself know is that I am god. Which I am not. But I have become one with myself to God’s exclusion.

There is a self awareness involved. Adam now needed to cover up his physical body because he was aware of himself. There is an awakening but it is an awakening to a horror movie.
‘Guess what, now you’re alone.’

What was lost is the awareness of God’s presence. ‘Thank you, Jesus, for not letting me live forever in that state. Thank you for saving me from myself and giving me grace to turn on the light of Your love.’

 

Two verses that were part of this are:

Deut 8:5-6 (KJ2000) ” 5 You shall also consider in your heart, that, as a man chastens his son, so the LORD your God chastens you. 6 Therefore you shall keep the commandments of the LORD your God, to walk in his ways, and to fear him.”

Deut 8:16-20 (KJ2000) ” 16 Who fed you in the wilderness with manna, which your fathers knew not, that he might humble you, and that he might test you, to do you good in the end; 17 And you say in your heart, My power and the might of my hand has gotten me this wealth. 18 But you shall remember the LORD your God: for it is he that gives you power to get wealth, that he may establish his covenant which he swore unto your fathers, as it is this day. 19 And it shall be, if you do at all forget the LORD your God, and walk after other gods, and serve them, and worship them, I testify against you this day that you shall surely perish. 20 As the nations which the LORD destroys before your face, so shall you perish; because you would not be obedient unto the voice of the LORD your God.”

 

Further reading:

Spirit chews

