apples_and_oranges

Picture from

http://www.evilenglish.net/apples-and-oranges/

 

Congeal it down into something small because I don’t have the attention for that:

My wife and I were arguing about something. I don’t even remember not because I’m so good but because I’m forgetful. Anyway, I mentioned that she shouldn’t act like her mother (who isn’t saved). She picked up right away on the intentional jab I just gave her and responded with,”it is unfair to compare apples to oranges”.
What she meant is that when numbering items or counting them it is inappropriate to number items that are different. I can’t say I have 10 apples and oranges when I have 3 apples and 7 oranges. It is just wrong. So her response was appropriate true and made me upset.

I thought about how apples and oranges are the same

What I came up with is that they both rot. I could have said they are both fruit but rotting was more to my mood.
I was thinking that whether a person is christian or not they can be rotten by acting very evilly or opposite of God’s will.
The argument could be given that they were not ‘christian’ if they acted evilly.

The truth is we are all human and have the ability to act evil at any second. It is a huge miracle of Jesus that we aren’t all acting horribly  more often.

I can think of one good example of this. Adam in the garden. He was more perfect than anyone born since then except Jesus. And yet He still sinned. Christians are free from sin if they choose to do so on a second by second basis. Self-righteousness is a sin.

 

 

The longer version for those of us who have time, who appreciate a good story and who understand the value of a parable.

 

In this second part I want to apologize ahead of time for poor grammar and in coherency. Sometimes the loud things in life that seem to be told by an idiot are really the most important things to listen to.

 

I am very low in intelligence. But with not with Jesus.

‘ Help me Jesus I need you to understand everything. But especially what I need to understand at this moment.’

Sometimes it is a great blessing to forget things. Sometimes it is a blessing to be blind.
Other times I need to see horrible things so that I can help people – rather so God can.

 

‘It’s like comparing apples and oranges.” – yes it is. When a christian is mean and when a non christian is mean. Actually a christian’s ‘meanness’ might be for your own good in the long run.
But also I say apples and oranges both rot.

Every benefit of the doubt belongs to the other person.
I am wrong.

Jesus is right. And just because I knew the right thing last time does not mean that I have heard what Jesus says for this time.

What he often says is, ‘ I love them and you must love them no matter how they mistreat you as I did you by taking your sins to the cross.’

 

Do you know what my flesh wants to do? To leave my wife as she left her mother.
But I can’t God says no.

Can you love a person despite the ‘demons’ they have?

I know she loves her mother but does she really?  She can’t say she loves someone who she completely ignores.  She feels something about her mother and prays for her, but isn’t that like saying be blessed to the man who needs a coat?

 

-Thank you God for the treasure hunt. Lets see what we can discover.

1John 3:17 (KJ2000) ” 17 But whoever has this world’s goods, and sees his brother have need, and shuts up his heart of compassion from him, how dwells the love of God in him? ”

– getting closer

John the Baptist says Luke 3:11 (KJ2000) ” 11 He answered and said unto them, He that has two coats, let him impart to him that has none; and he that has food, let him do likewise. ”

– my first reaction is oh that is not Jesus. What is this tendency? Jesus said John the Baptist was the greatest prophet ever. That is a pretty good endorsement. From Jesus. And yet I am willing to believe Joel Olsteen over John the Baptist. What is wrong with that picture?

 

Luke 14:12-14 (KJ2000) ” 12 Then said he also to him that bade him, When you give a dinner or a supper, call not your friends, nor your brethren, neither your kinsmen, nor your rich neighbors; lest they also bid you again, and a recompense be made you. 13 But when you give a feast, call the poor, the maimed, the lame, the blind: 14 And you shall be blessed; for they cannot recompense you: for you shall be recompensed at the resurrection of the just.”

 

Yay,

Yay.         I found it. Only because I gave up looking. ‘Praise You, Jesus You know right where everything is all the time.’

– Drum roll-
-It is James 2: 15-16
(KJ2000) ” 15 If a brother or sister be naked, and destitute of daily food, 16 And one of you say unto them, Depart in peace, be warmed and filled; yet you give them not those things which are needful to the body; what does it profit?

 

I feel like saying speak English. I see that this verse does not make a nice sound bite that is quick and easy.

God is not all about the quick and easy. He is about the slow, gentle, calm, unhurried, restful, sweet, loving, truth.

 

As soon as I think I know the truth, it moves. Let me give an example. I am ready to tear my wife apart because she is so wrong about a biblical point. I think I know the truth and even now it is so obvious that I missed it. The truth is I love her, and what do I know anyway.

It occurs to me that this whole blog is a wast of time. Why should I share anything of me which is wrong. Me won’t benefit anyone.
Again, but. But if I share something that points to the way of Jesus.  Even if I point to Jesus at all it will have merit.

In fact If I am writing what God wants me to write when He tells me to write it, It will touch the single person who He is speaking to right now in a meaningful way.
This is how God works. Singly, personally and unifying. Deeply meaningful, deeply intimate and revealing.
He reveals Himself to us and that is how I must become. More self revealing.

 

Devil thinks he can substitute his voice for Jesus’ voice. By many stupid means.
The truth is Jesus voice created the physical universe and how ever many multiverses exist. He created the spiritual universe and any other type of universes I can think of.
Jesus created the angel who chose evil and became eternally punished. Jesus created him/it. That means Jesus rules him.
This is a dangerous area because knowing this makes me think God is letting evil happen. And as far as my puny mind understands this often seems true. Even when He ‘turns’ things into good, it seems like He meant the bad things to happen. But He didn’t this is a tricky lie.

Back to the point. Even if all human being’s ears are cut off, we would all still hear the voice of God/Jesus. We all hear Him from the day we are born until forever because we are eternal beings. We either live forever with Him or forever without Him.
I can hear objections coming. ‘Nope, never heard Him.’
It really doesn’t matter. His word accomplishes what it was set out to do no matter what.

‘Jesus teach me how to receive and hold onto Your word and not just throw it away. As if I could.
Help open my spiritual eyes and ears to your word and keep in my brain exactly what needs to be there. Thank you for being bigger than I ever imagined. Thank you for being able to make changes in the tiniest levels of my heart and brain cells.’

 

I don’t want to be the kind of person to do something to get something. But I will do something to know someone. I will do what my king says. I will do it because I am grateful for all He has done for me.

 

I can change my mind through Jesus. I can change everything through Jesus. He did it once and for all and He continues to do it day by day.

‘Thank you, Jesus, for touching me today. Thank you for my wife who I love very much. Thank you for bravery to share things I don’t want to and thank you for loving me as I am right now – beautiful. Jesus, You are the most beautiful person I know. You inspire me to treat people better because you treat me so well. I don’t want anything. You satisfy me.’

 

 

