One thing I like about God is that He’s not human.

But Jesus is human.

God is infinitely good. I can not ever approach His infinite goodness.

 

‘Help me, Father, not to give up especially when it seems impossible to me. When everything looks completely hopeless, help me turn to You and remember that You are hope, Help me remember that there is always hope no matter how hopeless I think and feel and act. Even when I have given up. You raise me up to try again.”

Falling off my bike was never fun but it happened less often as I kept learning.

 

Jesus talks about what we’re made of in this passage from Matthew.

 

God knows what to give us

Matt 7:11 (KJ2000) ” 11 If you then, being evil, know how to give good gifts unto your children, how much more shall your Father who is in heaven give good things to them that ask him? ”

What Jesus says I am is evil.

 

Rom 3:9-20 (KJ2000) ” 9 What then? are we better than they? No, in no way: for we have before proved both Jews and Greeks, that they are all under sin; 10 As it is written, There is none righteous, no, not one: 11 There is none that understands, there is none that seeks after God. 12 They are all gone out of the way, they are together become unprofitable; there is none that does good, no, not one. 13 Their throat is an open sepulcher; with their tongues they have used deceit; the poison of asps is under their lips: 14 Whose mouth is full of cursing and bitterness: 15 Their feet are swift to shed blood: 16 Destruction and misery are in their ways: 17 And the way of peace have they not known: 18 There is no fear of God before their eyes. 19 Now we know that whatsoever things the law says, it says to them who are under the law: that every mouth may be stopped, and all the world may become guilty before God. 20 Therefore by the deeds of the law there shall no flesh be justified in his sight: for by the law is the knowledge of sin.”

 

I am under sin.
I am not righteous.
I don’t understand.
Destruction and misery are in my ways.

I think Jesus wants me to know the depth of the sin I commit all the time. To truly repent I must recognize the harmfulness of my sin.

These things are for a specific reason. #1 not to judge anyone else but to probe the honest sorry level of my own sin.
and then to let Jesus do His thing – save.

Not to keep feeling guilty and sorry for myself. Not to punish myself so that I can follow my rules.

But to let go of the rules themselves.

To be brave enough to believe I am free in Jesus and that He can do anything through me.

‘I’d be happy, Jesus, if you could just help me be a little less of a dumb-ass.’

My hope is not that I become god. That would be horrible especially because i know how horrible I am. My hope is to move tiny steps toward His holiness and divinity. His divinity is infinite mine is infinitely far away from becoming as holy as He is. But He still draws me closer to Himself.

bike-crash

picture from
The Fall

 

 

