lasagna.jpg

Yesterday I had the strong urge to make lasagna. I didn’t want to do it but I felt like I should. I especially resisted when I saw the cost of the ingredients. Also I didn’t want to put the time in to make it. Once it was done, I was glad. My daughter works and my wife does too so I thought it would be a nice surprise for them. It turns out I was the one surprised. My daughter brought some sourdough bread and made bruschetta. The amazing part was that she brought the sourdough bread home before she knew I was making anything. My wife brought a salad that our good friend just happened to make on the same day. It was a glorious feast that ‘we’ put together without knowing what each other was bringing. Usually either one of us makes the meal or we all work on a project that we decide together or we eat out which happens a  lot. Or we each take care of our own dinner because our schedules don’t mesh. This was different and holy. God had each of us bring an important part of the meal that fit perfectly with the others.
I enjoyed being with my wife and daughter and sharing a meal that God designed and provided for us. I was very thankful.
The biggest blessing to me was the co-ordination of it. Isn’t that one of God’s specialties to bring many things together at once so that something wonderful happens? It is how He talks to me a lot. he will soften my heart in a certain area through many events focusing on the same thing.

It was a miracle. This has not happened before and I would like it to happen again but if it never does that’s fine too. It’s subtle. It didn’t prove beyond doubt that God existed but it pointed in a poignant way at His presence.
Isn’t this the way Jesus is? First of all, He likes meals. He likes showing His presence at meals.

Luke 24:30-31 (KJ2000) ” 30 And it came to pass, as he sat to eat with them, he took bread, and blessed it, and broke it, and gave to them. 31 And their eyes were opened, and they knew him; and he vanished out of their sight.”

Secondly. I don’t have the ability to co-ordinate such things. Honestly I’m not that smart or co-ordinated and don’t have the motivation to put that much effort toward it. Although on special occasions I might.

Thirdly, we work together in His plan.
I learned something cool also. Together we made something better. Instead of just one thing for supper it was a special feast. A celebration.
I learned once again that I need people.

God is calling me to love people more. I am familiar with the verse to love your neighbor as yourself. I found a loophole around it by thinking that I don’t love myself that much. This morning God reminded me that I should love people like He loves me:

John 15:12 (KJ2000) ” 12 This is my commandment, That you love one another, as I have loved you. ”

This is an impossible demand. I can not do it. And that’s fine because He is giving me His strength and grace to do it. He knows I can’t and that is the way He designed me to need and draw on His love so that I can extend it to everyone near.

I don’t want to be the kind of person who needs a miracle to know Jesus is alive. I just don’t. I believe in Him and through Him and with His grace to believe. I know He is real more than I know my own hands are real. Although I must admit there are times when I wonder what He’s doing.

I am very thankful that He does miracles anyway. Sometimes I tell Him that He’s showing off. He often ‘shows off’ the kind of love that He has for me. This is the love I must give to my family and friends and neighbors and enemies. I only have a chance if it is in God’s timing. I must obey His promptings like making lasagna.

 

 

Picture from:  
