Is it good to be offended in any way?
I propose that being offended is an honest reaction.
First I want to look at the Bible and what it says about being offended:

Isa 8:13-14 (KJ2000) ” 13 Sanctify the LORD of hosts himself; and let him be your fear, and let him be your dread. 14 And he shall be as a sanctuary; but a stone of stumbling and a rock of offense to both the houses of Israel, for a trap and for a snare to the inhabitants of Jerusalem.”

Matt 18:7-9 (KJ2000) ” 7 Woe unto the world because of offenses! for it must needs be that offenses come; but woe to that man by whom the offense comes! 8 Therefore if your hand or your foot offend you, cut them off, and cast them from you: it is better for you to enter into life lame or maimed, rather than having two hands or two feet to be cast into everlasting fire. 9 And if your eye offend you, pluck it out, and cast it from you: it is better for you to enter into life with one eye, rather than having two eyes to be cast into hell fire.”

Acts 24:15-16 (KJ2000) ” 15 And have hope toward God, which they themselves also allow, that there shall be a resurrection of the dead, both of the just and unjust. 16 And in this do I exercise myself, to have always a conscience void of offense toward God, and toward men.”

So it says that people will be offended by Jesus.
But that this is not good.
And that there is hope to have no offense toward Jesus or anyone else.

I like what Billy Graham said about being offended:
“The cross is an offense because it says to the world, “You’re a sinner.” The cross said to the thief who was dying on the other cross, “You’re a sinner. You’d better repent.” And the thief did repent. He confessed his sins. And he said, “Remember me when You come into Your kingdom.” And Jesus turned to him and said, “Today you will be with Me in Paradise.” Christ forgave him right there. But, first, the cross condemned his sins and made him confess and acknowledge that he was a sinner (Luke 23:39-43)” – https://billygraham.org/decision-magazine/march-2016/why-does-the-cross-offend-people/

So looking at the offensiveness of the cross at first is understandable and I include this quote from Pascal as encouragement for a new follower to persue Jesus:
“What else does this craving, and this helplessness, proclaim but that there was once in man a true happiness, of which all that now remains is the empty print and trace?
This he tries in vain to fill with everything around him, seeking in things that are not there the help he cannot find in those that are, though none can help, since this infinite abyss can be filled only with an infinite and immutable object; in other words by God himself”
– P. 75 Blaise Pascal’s Pensees (New York; Penguin Books, 1966.

jesus_cross_dies
My further question is how offended am I about the cross of Jesus. What this implies is that I have other sins that need to be confessed to Him. Yes, I am free of sin in Jesus.
But every day I exist in a fallen world. The deceit and my own deceptions created by wrong choices stain me on a regular basis. I have tried to remain pure and it is impossible. Although with Jesus even this is possible.

All I am saying is that I need to be honest about how offended I currently am toward Jesus’ Cross.

When I look at Him on the cross I feel sorry and that is good.
That is where the freedom comes from.
Without Jesus on the cross nothing is gained.

I am not stuck there. I know He is risen and I enjoy being His friend.
But it is good to remember where He came from especially when I have made grievous mistakes such as turning my back on Him or doubting Him.

Jesus is so good. He loves me and takes me back every time.

John 21:17 (KJ2000) ” 17 He said unto him the third time, Simon, son of Jonas, do you love me? Peter was grieved because he said unto him the third time, Do you love me? And he said unto him, Lord, you know all things; you know that I love you. Jesus said unto him, Feed my sheep. ”

 

 

