Yesterday I was so distracted at work that I stuck my hand in this big stacker machine at the wrong time. It was right when it began the spin cycle so that it could have easily took my hand completely off. I was protected and blessed by Jesus. I came out of it with only minor abrasions on my thumb.
The interesting thing was I wanted to complain and be sad that God allowed me to get hurt instead of thanking Him for preventing a major injury. After all, it was completely my own fault for being distracted.

It got me thinking about how easily distracted I am. Like when I google off. Even now, distraction is not where i went wrong yesterday.

The point where I made a mistake was thinking I knew better. I was sure the machine was going up and down next and I forgot that it was on spin cycle. I was wrong.
I think the Bible refers to this kind of behavior as being ‘stiff necked.’

Stephen speaking:
Acts 7:51-55 (KJ2000) ” 51 You stiff-necked and uncircumcised in heart and ears, you do always resist the Holy Spirit: as your fathers did, so do you. 52 Which of the prophets have not your fathers persecuted? and they have slain them who showed before of the coming of the Just One; of whom you have been now the betrayers and murderers: 53 Who have received the law as delivered by angels, and have not kept it. 54 When they heard these things, they were cut to the heart, and they gnashed on him with their teeth. 55 But he, being full of the Holy Spirit, looked up steadfastly into heaven, and saw the glory of God, and Jesus standing on the right hand of God,”

Exod 32:9 (KJ2000) ” 9 And the LORD said unto Moses, I have seen this people, and, behold, it is a stiff-necked people: ”

Deut 10:16 (KJ2000) ” 16 Circumcise therefore the foreskin of your heart, and be no more stiff-necked. ”

Jas 4:6-7 (KJ2000) ” 6 But he gives more grace. Therefore he says, God resists the proud, but gives grace unto the humble. 7 Submit yourselves therefore to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you.”

pot cracked
I am reminded that clay is like me because it can have a good attitude by being soft and pliable or it can have a bad attitude by being stiff and breakable.

 

Isa 41:25-29 (KJ2000) ” 25 I have raised up one from the north, and he shall come: from the rising of the sun shall he call upon my name: and he shall come upon princes as upon mortar, and as the potter treads clay. 26 Who has declared from the beginning, that we may know? and beforetime, that we may say, He is righteous? yea, there is none that shows, yea, there is none that declares, yea, there is none that hears your words. 27 The first shall say to Zion, Behold, behold them: and I will give to Jerusalem one that brings good tidings. 28 For I beheld, and there was no man; even among them, and there was no counselor, that, when I asked of them, could answer a word. 29 Behold, they are all worthless; their works are nothing: their molten images are wind and confusion.”

Isa 64:8 (KJ2000) ” 8 But now, O LORD, you are our father; we are the clay, and you our potter; and we all are the work of your hand. “

 

Jer 18:1-6 (KJ2000) ” 1 The word which came to Jeremiah from the LORD, saying, 2 Arise, and go down to the potter’s house, and there I will cause you to hear my words. 3 Then I went down to the potter’s house, and, behold, he worked a work on the wheels. 4 And the vessel that he made of clay was marred in the hand of the potter: so he made it again another vessel, as seemed good to the potter to make it. 5 Then the word of the LORD came to me, saying, 6 O house of Israel, cannot I do with you as this potter? says the LORD. Behold, as the clay is in the potter’s hand, so are you in my hand, O house of Israel.”

‘Thank you Jesus it is all you = everything good. Help me be malleable so that You can re-make me.’

 

PS.

It turns out letting go is like humility.
The harder I try to let go the more I am not doing it.
The humbler I think i am the more proud i become.

These things are mind blowers. They don’t make sense and yet they do.
The truth underneath is that they are simple. I don’t have to try hard – just enjoy Jesus.

