From the outside looking in it looks like a christian has no money. It looks like they suffer even more than I do. They work more and serve others don’t have as much fun as far as drinking and drugs and sex. They don’t suffer any less and they end up with few friends and overall are not very successful.

From the inside looking out.
Jesus’ burden is light.

I often wanted the easy way. I wanted to make as much money as I could while doing the least possible.

Matt 11:28-30 (KJ2000) ” 28 Come unto me, all you that labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and you shall find rest unto your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”
When I am enjoying the work that I am doing, the work is easy. It is more than easy. It is enjoyable and delightful and I am thankful for it. The more I work with Jesus the less tired I become because it is not me doing it. It is Jesus doing it through me. My body gets tired but He renews my body.

As far as riches, I have all that I need. Food for the day, unless it is a fasting day. But I am provided for in everything and I don’t have to worry about any of it. I don’t have to plan on what to buy or strive to save for nice clothes. Clothes are provided.

Luke 12:25-30 (KJ2000) ” 25 And which of you with taking thought can add to his stature one cubit? 26 If you then be not able to do that thing which is least, why are you anxious concerning the rest? 27 Consider the lilies how they grow: they toil not, they spin not; and yet I say unto you, that Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these. 28 If then God so clothes the grass, which is today in the field, and tomorrow is cast into the oven; how much more will he clothe you, O you of little faith? 29 And seek you not what you shall eat, or what you shall drink, neither be of anxious mind. 30 For all these things do the nations of the world seek after: and your Father knows that you have need of these things.”

‘Father forgive me for judging and murmuring. I know you are good. Thank you for providing everything I need and for being my source of energy and love.’

What convinces me that the christian walk is worth it? Time with Jesus. Having a real friend. There are times when I was utterly lonely but not now.
There were times when I was utterly hopeless but not with Jesus.
With Jesus there is no fear or worry because He heals, provides rest and provides everything.

How does a ‘carnal’ person understand the spirit? God beckons.
I can change my perspective. Jesus can show me a different perspective. (true perspective)

1- Be willing. It amazes me that I was willing to try any drug to relieve the dread I felt but was reluctant to try Christianity.
The truth is forces (flesh and evil) allow and encourage anything but Christianity.

2- Be committed.
Today I am struggling with, ‘is it worth it?’ It completely and utterly is worth it.
I often understand the goodness of commitment by looking at my own marriage. Sometimes I believe a lie that I do all this work in my marriage for very little pay off. When I change my mind about it, I realize the ‘pay off’ is someone who knows me and still loves me very deeply.
It is hard to value this kind of reward. Oh it seems nice on the outside but simply not worth the effort to attain it. I can’t do it anyway. Which is true only Jesus through me can.

3- Be humble.
If I think I know everything and have it all together. Think again.
If I think I am better than anyone, I am not.
I need to quit competing and start working to encourage someone or take care of their needs. To change my perspective into less self and more Jesus and serving the ones He created and loves. To call them home. Not just do nothing.

Being humble is pretty easy if I am honest with myself. I know how messed up I am. I know how needy I am. I know I need a savior and what is lovely is that Jesus is there right now standing at the door waiting for His dinner invitation.

Rev 3:17-22 (KJ2000) ” 17 Because you say, I am rich, and increased with goods, and have need of nothing; and know not that you are wretched, and miserable, and poor, and blind, and naked: 18 I counsel you to buy of me gold tried in the fire, that you may be rich; and white clothing, that you may be clothed, and that the shame of your nakedness does not appear; and anoint your eyes with eye salve, that you may see. 19 As many as I love, I rebuke and chasten: be zealous therefore, and repent. 20 Behold, I stand at the door, and knock: if any man hears my voice, and opens the door, I will come in to him, and will eat with him, and he with me. 21 To him that overcomes will I grant to sit with me in my throne, even as I also overcame, and sat down with my Father in his throne. 22 He that has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit says unto the churches.”

It requires a creativity that is not my own. God is the ultimate creative being. There is amazing creativity in God and He showers it down on whomever He pleases.

It is not easy in the sense that it will drop in my lap without trying. I must be zealous and repent. Both things require me to stand up. I must refresh my marriage or it will die.
Overcoming means there is adversity to overcome. But rest assured. Jesus has overcome the world. He has overcome everything I have faced am facing or ever will face.

John 16:33 (KJ2000) ” 33 These things I have spoken unto you, that in me you might have peace. In the world you shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world. ”

Anyone can change their perspective. It is as simple as looking at the same object from two different angles. All that is required is to walk a couple of steps and look at the object differently. I don’t even have to walk. I can look at it with one eye and then the other. Each eye is at a slightly different position.

The ways that Jesus changes my perspective are so valuable to me that I know I will never give up on Him. He challenges me. It gets hard. Some of my delusions are deeply embedded. Kind of like pulling out a deep sliver of wood. It may hurt but oh the relief when it comes out.

Even the John 16.33 verse, says that we might have peace. This peace that Jesus provides is not like sitting on a still lake feeling the warm sun and appreciating the bird calls. Although that is a taste of it. It is like knowing I am taken care of by a loving Father, having an intimate life long friend in Jesus, and being able to continue in humility by the power of the Holy Spirit.

One final example of a perspective change:
I have cuts on my hand from working. I can focus on the cuts and feel sorry for myself. Or I can be thankful that I have hands. I can be glad that Jesus is healing the cuts. I can hear the truth because He has opened my ears that the cuts aren’t really that bad at all. I can know that it is time to look to Him instead of concentrating on the cuts. It is tiring to be that concentrated on one simple thing such as tiny abrasions on my hands.
I prefer the freedom Jesus brings.
What can I do with these hands today to show someone else the kind of love that Jesus has shown me?

