tulip 2017

Ps 26:3 (KJ2000) ” 3 For your lovingkindness is before my eyes: and I have walked in your truth. “

2Cor 5:17 (KJ2000) ” 17 Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creation: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new. “

Who doesn’t like spring? The temperature gets warmer. Plants and animals come alive. It is a time of hope.

My biggest hope is eternal life through Jesus Christ, my savior and king.

I have been thinking about salvation and I am not sure it is certain. I thought about the passage:
2Pet 1:10 (KJ2000) ” 10 Therefore rather, brethren, give diligence to make your calling and election sure: for if you do these things, you shall never fall: ”
I guess there is some debate about whether a person can loose their salvation or not. I just got the insight that like spring a plant begins life and is unlikely to die prematurely unless something unusual happens. Salvation is like that.
Think about it. When I love Jesus I no longer want to sin because I love Him. His new life in me craves His nourishment.

Phil 2:10-15 (KJ2000) ” 10 That at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, of things in heaven, and things in earth, and things under the earth; 11 And that every tongue should confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father. 12 Therefore, my beloved, as you have always obeyed, not as in my presence only, but now much more in my absence, work out your own salvation with fear and trembling. 13 For it is God who works in you both to will and to do of his good pleasure. 14 Do all things without murmuring and disputing: 15 That you may be blameless and harmless, the sons of God, without rebuke, in the midst of a crooked and perverse nation, among whom you shine as lights in the world;”

Rom 13:11 (KJ2000) ” 11 And this, knowing the time, that now it is high time to awake out of sleep: for now is our salvation nearer than when we believed. ”
Lam 3:21-26 (KJ2000) ” 21 This I recall to my mind, therefore have I hope. 22 It is of the LORD’S mercies that we are not consumed, because his compassions fail not. 23 They are new every morning: great is your faithfulness. 24 The LORD is my portion, says my soul; therefore will I hope in him. 25 The LORD is good unto them that wait for him, to the soul that seeks him. 26 It is good that a man should both hope and quietly wait for the salvation of the LORD.”

2Pet 1:5-11 (KJ2000) ” 5 And for this reason, giving all diligence, add to your faith virtue; and to virtue knowledge; 6 And to knowledge self control; and to self control patience; and to patience godliness; 7 And to godliness brotherly kindness; and to brotherly kindness love. 8 For if these things be in you, and abound, they make you that you shall neither be barren nor unfruitful in the knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ. 9 But he that lacks these things is blind, and cannot see afar off, and has forgotten that he was purged from his old sins. 10 Therefore rather, brethren, give diligence to make your calling and election sure: for if you do these things, you shall never fall: 11 For so an entrance shall be provided unto you abundantly into the everlasting kingdom of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.”

What is my motivation for claiming need to keep working on salvation? I guess I don’t want to take it for granted kind of like being married. I still need to work on the relationship. It doesn’t stay good unless I invest in it.

Does that mean I should think I am not married so that I work on it harder? No. I am saved I am a new creature in Jesus Christ.

I hope for the complete salvation He is bringing.

I guess my motivation is to continue growing in my understanding of what salvation is that I want to expand my concept of it. It does not seem good that a person can check off the list or just say, ‘oh yeah I’m saved.’ And that be the end of the story. Starting the journey with Jesus is only the beginning of salvation. It ends in eternal life with Him in heaven.

I do believe He is making heaven on earth and we get to taste and see it. I can’t explain the gratefulness I have for His delivery of me from darkness into light here on earth.

I used to be an alcoholic. Though technically they tell you once an alcoholic always one. Like I said, no longer am I an alcoholic. Anyway, the point about it is that when I was drinking I thought the alcohol was making life bearable. Now I realize that it really was making my life horrible. This is really a gross simplification but I see people who are using drugs and alcohol and they say stuff like ‘I hate my life.’ Granted, it is a temporary statement and while using they feel better.

But it is like what my pastor said that there is a huge hole in each person that needs to be filled and only One person can fill it – Jesus. Trying to fill that void with substances is like trying to fill a huge well by using a tea spoon. It will never happen.

I have realized lately that I need a savior. I need to be saved from my own wrong ways of thinking on a daily basis. This is one aspect of my salvation that I appreciate.
I also appreciate all the things Jesus has saved me from in the past that I no longer struggle with. And I am hopeful for the future that I will one day be more exactly like Him and our relationship will continue to become better and better.

‘Father thank you for your sacrifice that bought me salvation. I need you. I need saving every day of my life. I believe you have accomplished it already. Help me to walk toward complete understanding of your precious gifts. Thank you Jesus. Thank you for hope and security in knowing you have won over sin and death.’

After thought:
It is good to confess that I am free even though I am not yet because it sparks an inner light of hopefulness. The best decisions I have made are in co-operation with Jesus.

I believe in Him and that He can do it.

It helps me to know that there is the possibility of freedom. Going back to the drinking example. I tried to quit many times and failed every time. When I made the decision to be done which seems now only possible in God’s timing, He conquered it. He put His power into the contract which bound me not to drink anymore.

It is hard to explain and I don’t want to talk about it too much. I have bragged about not sinning in other areas and then fell into sin because I became proud about it. I do not feel proud about not drinking and I’m not saying it is easy to quit.
I am saying that with Jesus it is possible which is huge.
It is hopeful.

It is new life in Him.

 

Final Edit:tulip 2017 - 2.jpg

 

‘God sink your hope deep in me. Root it deep. It is you who make flowers grow. It is you who provide new life. You are my hope. I release my grip on it. I covenant with you. I agree with your hope and new life.’

 

 

 

 

 

tulip3b.jpg

 

 

 

God answers prayers!

 

 

