I am going to share how to become greater in life and in walking with Jesus.
This passage from Mark is a good summary.

Mark 10:43-45 (KJ2000) ” 43 But so shall it not be among you: but whosoever would be great among you, shall be your servant: 44 And whosoever of you will be the first, shall be servant of all. 45 For even the Son of man came not to be ministered unto, but to minister, and to give his life a ransom for many.”

Also when I remember that Jesus said John the baptist was the greatest person ever born of a woman. I remember when he said, “He must increase, but I must decrease. ” -John 3:30 (KJ2000)

Competition is a vibrant attitude in this world. I often try to be better than those around me.
Today at work I was thankful that I out performed a particular employee who was new to the job. I immediately thought this was wrong. I repented and thanked God for them.

Jesus doesn’t say it is wrong to want to be great. In fact, I believe He put that impulse in us for a reason. It is good to want to do better. But what am I trying to get better at? It ought to be serving others and trying to make them greater than me to make them higher and to edify them.

Colosians says, “Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly in all wisdom; teaching and admonishing one another in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing with grace in your hearts to the Lord.” ” -Col 3:16 (KJ2000)

The Greek word used for admonishing is, ” νουθετέω noutheteo (nou-thet-eh’-o) v.
1. to put in mind
2. (by implication) to caution or reprove gently
KJV: admonish, warn ” Taken from (Mickelson’s Enhanced Strong’s Greek and Hebrew Dictionaries).
The definition sounds nicer than the English translation of admonishing. The definition points out keeping other people in mind and reproving gently.

In Romans there is a different word which is translated edifying: Rom 14:19 (KJ2000) ” 19 Let us therefore follow after the things which make for peace, and things with which one may edify another. ”

This word is : ” (Mickelson’s Enhanced Strong’s Greek and Hebrew Dictionaries)
G3619 οἰκοδομή oikodome (oy-kod-om-ay’) n.
1. architecture
2. (concretely) a structure
3. (figuratively) confirmation
KJV: building, edify(-ication, -ing) ” (Mickelson’s Enhanced Strong’s Greek and Hebrew Dictionaries)

Which means to me building someone else up. I can imagine ways to do this. Giving them compliments in front of others. Being glad when the attention is on them. Encouraging them and telling them they are doing good.

Overall I need to be a better servant.

‘Jesus help me. I want you to increase in my life and for me to decrease. Give me your grace to serve the people I am with today. Forgive me for acting out of pride by taking glory which belongs to you. Thank you for the admonishment and encouragement and reminder to become a better servant like you are. Thank you for giving your life as a ransom for many.’

