Let’s look at some examples:
Matt 5:44 (KJ2000) ” 44 But I say unto you, Love your enemies, bless them that curse you, do good to them that hate you, and pray for them who despitefully use you, and persecute you; ”

This is a challenge right out of the gate. I don’t feel like praying for my enemies. I’m not feeling real loving toward ‘those who despitefully use me.’

I must admit though when God gives me the grace to do it. It is a wonderful experience to feel His freedom in forgiveness.

Matt 6:5-15 (KJ2000) ” 5 And when you pray, you shall not be as the hypocrites are: for they love to pray standing in the synagogues and in the corners of the streets, that they may be seen of men. Verily I say unto you, They have their reward. 6 But you, when you pray, enter into your room, and when you have shut your door, pray to your Father who is in secret; and your Father who sees in secret shall reward you openly. 7 But when you pray, use not vain repetitions, as the heathen do: for they think that they shall be heard for their much speaking. 8 Be not therefore like them: for your Father knows what things you have need of, before you ask him. 9 After this manner therefore pray: Our Father who is in heaven, hallowed be your name. 10 Your kingdom come. Your will be done in earth, as it is in heaven. 11 Give us this day our daily bread. 12 And forgive us our debts, as we forgive our debtors. 13 And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil: For yours is the kingdom, and the power, and the glory, forever. Amen. 14 For if you forgive men their trespasses, your heavenly Father will also forgive you: 15 But if you forgive not men their trespasses, neither will your Father forgive your trespasses.”

Notice Jesus is actually praying while giving the example.

I also want to highlight that I think the part about not being long winded is overused. If someone wants to talk to God all day long, I don’t think that would be a problem.

When someone prays to try and look good in front of others that is bad. Or when someone repeats a phrase over and over till it is devoid of meaning, I don’t think God enjoys that.

Matt 11:25-30 (KJ2000) ” 25 At that time Jesus answered and said, I thank you, O Father, Lord of heaven and earth, because you have hid these things from the wise and prudent, and have revealed them unto babes. 26 Even so, Father: for so it seemed good in your sight. 27 All things are delivered unto me of my Father: and no man knows the Son, but the Father; neither knows any man the Father, except the Son, and he to whomever the Son will reveal him. 28 Come unto me, all you that labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and you shall find rest unto your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”
Matt 14:16-20 (KJ2000) ” 16 But Jesus said unto them, They need not depart; you give them to eat. 17 And they say unto him, We have here but five loaves, and two fishes. 18 He said, Bring them here to me. 19 And he commanded the multitude to sit down on the grass, and took the five loaves, and the two fishes, and looking up to heaven, he blessed, and broke, and gave the loaves to his disciples, and the disciples to the multitude. 20 And they did all eat, and were filled: and they took up of the fragments that remained twelve baskets full.”
Matt 17:20-21 (KJ2000) ” 20 And Jesus said unto them, Because of your unbelief: for verily I say unto you, If you have faith as a grain of mustard seed, you shall say unto this mountain, Remove from here to yonder place; and it shall remove; and nothing shall be impossible unto you. 21 But this kind goes not out but by prayer and fasting.”

Matt 18:19-20 (KJ2000) ” 19 Again I say unto you, That if two of you shall agree on earth concerning anything that they shall ask, it shall be done for them of my Father who is in heaven. 20 For where two or three are gathered together in my name, there am I in the midst of them.”

Matt 18:21-22 (KJ2000) ” 21 Then came Peter to him, and said, Lord, how often shall my brother sin against me, and I forgive him? till seven times? 22 Jesus said unto him, I say not unto you, Until seven times: but, Until seventy times seven.”
Matt 18:34-35 (KJ2000) ” 34 And his lord was angry, and delivered him to the jailers, till he should pay all that was due unto him. 35 So likewise shall my heavenly Father do also unto you, if you from your hearts forgive not everyone his brother their trespasses.”
Matt 21:13 (KJ2000) ” 13 And said unto them, It is written, My house shall be called the house of prayer; but you have made it a den of thieves. ”
Matt 21:22 (KJ2000) ” 22 And all things, whatsoever you shall ask in prayer, believing, you shall receive. ”

Matt 26:26-28 (KJ2000) ” 26 And as they were eating, Jesus took bread, and blessed it, and broke it, and gave it to the disciples, and said, Take, eat; this is my body. 27 And he took the cup, and gave thanks, and gave it to them, saying, Drink you all of it; 28 For this is my blood of the new covenant, which is shed for many for the remission of sins.”
Blessed, broke, and thanked are all prayer words. Actually I don’t think breaking the bread is a prayer word so much as an action. But then again this action can be a prayer.

Think about what being obedeint says to God.
Matt 26:39 (KJ2000) ” 39 And he went a little farther, and fell on his face, and prayed, saying, O my Father, if it be possible, let this cup pass from me: nevertheless not as I will, but as you will. ”

And Listens:
John 7:14-19 (KJ2000) ” 14 Now about the middle of the feast Jesus went up into the temple, and taught. 15 And the Jews marveled, saying, How knows this man letters, having never learned? 16 Jesus answered them, and said, My doctrine is not mine, but his that sent me. 17 If any man will do his will, he shall know of the doctrine, whether it be of God, or whether I speak of myself. 18 He that speaks of himself seeks his own glory: but he that seeks his glory that sent him, the same is true, and no unrighteousness is in him. 19 Did not Moses give you the law, and yet none of you keeps the law? Why go you about to kill me?”

John 17:25-26 (KJ2000) ” 25 O righteous Father, the world has not known you: but I have known you, and these have known that you have sent me. 26 And I have declared unto them your name, and will declare it: that the love with which you have loved me may be in them, and I in them.”
John 7:7-8 (KJ2000) ” 7 The world cannot hate you; but me it hates, because I testify of it, that the works thereof are evil. 8 Go you up unto this feast: I go not up yet unto this feast: for my time is not yet fully come.

Later Jesus did go to the feast. What changed Jesus mind?

Prayer.
It reminds me of when Jesus turned water into wine. He tells His mom the same thing ‘my time has not come yet.’

Why did He change His mind?

I used to think it was because His mom asked Him.
I think it is because God told Him. And something to do with the faith of Mary “Do as He tells you.”

John 2:4 (KJ2000) ” 4 Jesus said unto her, Woman, what have I to do with you? my hour has not yet come. ”
John 2:5 (KJ2000) ” 5 His mother said unto the servants, whatsoever he says unto you, do it. ”
John 2:7 (KJ2000) ” 7 Jesus said unto them, Fill the water pots with water. And they filled them up to the brim. ”
There does not appear to be time between Mary saying do whatever He tells you.
So Jesus may not have prayed at that second. But it is undetermined because God could have said in His mind “ok, green light, do it.”

We are not told what Jesus heard and thought right then,
I know 2 things. Jesus always followed God’s will. And He made the water wine.
What if Jesus was hearing God through what Mary said to Him.
Examine closely verse 3:

John 2:3 (KJ2000) ” 3 And when they ran out of wine, the mother of Jesus said unto him, They have no wine. ”

She doesn’t ask anything. She’s just pointing out something. She is leaving it entirely up to Him. Wow. It is a big blessing to be able to participate in God’s plan and kingdom. Mary is a good example of how to do this.
Let it be done unto me according to Your will.
Luke 1:38 (KJ2000) ” 38 And Mary said, Behold the handmaid of the Lord; be it unto me according to your word. And the angel departed from her. ”
Sorry about that I misquoted. Mary says let it be done unto me according to the angels word. which is God’s Word.
But she is even more submissive to God. ‘behold the handmaid of the Lord.”
‘ Thank you Jesus. Develop me into Your servant more and more.’

