I have been struggling with keeping my respect for God even though I feel casual toward Him. What I discovered is it’s about love.
His blood is precious:

1Pet 1:17-21 (KJ2000) ” 17 And if you call on the Father, who without respect of persons judges according to every man’s work, pass the time of your exile here in fear: 18 Since you know that you were not redeemed with corruptible things, as silver and gold, from your vain manner of life received by tradition from your fathers; 19 But with the precious blood of Christ, as of a lamb without blemish and without spot: 20 Who verily was foreordained before the foundation of the world, but was manifest in these last times for you, 21 Who by him do believe in God, that raised him up from the dead, and gave him glory; that your faith and hope might be in God.”

He is precious:

1Pet 2:7 (KJ2000) ” 7 Unto you therefore who believe he is precious: but unto them who are disobedient, the stone which the builders rejected, the same is made the head of the corner, ”

It is a heart matter:

2Cor 9:6-15 (KJ2000) ” 6 But this I say, He who sows sparingly shall reap also sparingly; and he who sows bountifully shall reap also bountifully. 7 Every man according as he purposes in his heart, so let him give; not grudgingly, or of necessity: for God loves a cheerful giver. 8 And God is able to make all grace abound toward you; that you, always having all sufficiency in all things, may abound to every good work: 9 (As it is written, He has dispersed abroad; he has given to the poor: his righteousness remains forever. 10 Now he that ministers seed to the sower both minister bread for your food, and multiply your seed sown, and increase the fruits of your righteousness;) 11 Being enriched in everything to all bountifulness, who causes through us thanksgiving to God. 12 For the administration of this service not only supplies the need of the saints, but is abundant also by many thanksgivings unto God; 13 While by the proof of this ministry they glorify God for your professed subjection unto the gospel of Christ, and for your liberal distribution unto them, and unto all men; 14 And by their prayer for you, who long after you for the exceeding grace of God in you. 15 Thanks be unto God for his unspeakable gift.”

Be generous
Give with the best of intentions from a good heart (cheerfullly)

8 – That you may abound to every good work – God is able to make all grace abound toward you, always having sufficiency in all things.

He causes through us thanksgiving to God. – 11

15 – Thanks be to God for His unspeakable gift.

unspeakable = anekdiegetos

Jesus is precious.


1Pet 1:7-9 (KJ2000) ” 7 That the trial of your faith, being much more precious than of gold that perishes, though it be tried with fire, might be found unto praise and honor and glory at the appearing of Jesus Christ: 8 Whom having not seen, you love; in whom, though now you see him not, yet believing, you rejoice with joy unspeakable and full of glory: 9 Receiving the end of your faith, even the salvation of your souls.
Precious = timios

Whom you love = G25 ἀγαπάω agapao (ag-ap-ah’-o) v.
1. to love (in a social or moral sense)
{chiefly of the heart (wholehearted, unconditional, devoted) while G5368 is chiefly of the head (feelings, conditional, sentimental)} [perhaps from agan “much” or Hebrew agab]
KJV: (be-)love(-ed) Root(s): H5689 Compare: G5368 G25 (Mickelson’s Enhanced Strong’s Greek and Hebrew Dictionaries)


1 – I value Him. (The preciousness of God’s sacrifice of Jesus was brought home to me when I lost my own son.)

2 – I love Him. (rejoice)

I feel unable to love Him as He deserves and yet :
2Cor 9:8 (KJ2000) ” 8 And God is able to make all grace abound toward you; that you, always having all sufficiency in all things, may abound to every good work: ”


This is a good thing. I can do all things through Jesus who strengthens me but not the things that I selfishly want. This is something He wants. For us to love Him.
He does not want selfishly as I do. He wants me to love Him because He loves me. He wants to be in relationship with Him growing closer day by day. I have today. How am I going to let Him into my life more?
I love Him by letting go. Who is more trustworthy?
I do love Jesus. I feel prompted to grow in showing Him more, but I need to remember that it is more of a passive thing then anything I need to act on. I need to hear Him to know what to do but often I need more to be quiet and let Him fill me up with His love.


Rom 8:26-28 (KJ2000) ” 26 Likewise the Spirit also helps our weakness: for we know not what we should pray for as we ought but the Spirit himself makes intercession for us with groanings which cannot be uttered. 27 And he that searches the hearts knows what is the mind of the Spirit, because he makes intercession for the saints according to the will of God. 28 And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.”

“Spirit = G4151 πνεῦμα pneuma (pnyoo`-mah) n.
1. a current of air, i.e. breath (blast) or a breeze
2. (by analogy or figuratively) a spirit
3. (humanly) the rational soul
4. (by implication) vital principle, mental disposition, etc.
5. (superhumanly) an angel, demon
6. (divinely) God, Christ’s spirit, the Holy Spirit
[from G4154]
KJV: ghost, life, spirit(-ual, -ually), mind
Root(s): G4154  Compare: G5590 G4151” (Mickelson’s Enhanced Strong’s Greek and Hebrew Dictionaries)


Examine closely v- 28 of Romans 8. It is a well known verse used and abused. It says things work together for good to them that LOVE God, (according to His purpose)
Isn’t this a very important part that gets overlooked? I have heard the verse quoted as all things work together for good. This is a misquote which points to a deception. Whenever verses are misquoted it is a popular deception.

It is properly quoted – ‘to them that love God.

It is not a mistake that Jesus kept pointing to the first commandment as:

Matt 22:36-39 (KJ2000) ” 36 Teacher, which is the great commandment in the law? 37 Jesus said unto him, You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your mind. 38 This is the first and great commandment. 39 And the second is like unto it, You shall love your neighbor as yourself.”

Deut 30:6 (KJ2000) ” 6 And the LORD your God will circumcise your heart, and the heart of your descendants, to love the LORD your God with all your heart, and with all your soul, that you may live. ”

The Hebrew word for love is ‘aw habe’
“love = H157 אָהַב אָהֵב ‘ahab (aw-hab’) (or raheb {aw-habe’}) v.
1. to have affection for (sexually or otherwise)
[a primitive root]
KJV: (be-)love(-d, -ly, -r), like, friend.
H157″ (Mickelson’s Enhanced Strong’s Greek and Hebrew Dictionaries)

Also look at how many times ‘aw habe’ appears in the OT:
[Strong’s Number: 0157 Original Word Word Origin
bha a primitive root Transliterated Word ‘ahab
Phonetic Spelling aw-hab’
Parts of Speech = Verb
Definition = to love
(Qal)
human love for another, includes family, and sexual
human appetite for objects such as food, drink, sleep, wisdom
human love for or to God, act of being a friend.
lover (participle), friend (participle), God’s love toward man,
to individual men, to people Israel, to righteousness
(Niphal)
lovely (participle)
loveable (participle)
(Piel)
friends, lovers (fig. of adulterers), to like
King James Word Usage – Total: 208
love 169, lover(s) 19, friend(s) 12, beloved 5, liketh 1, lovely 1, loving 1
KJV Verse Count
Genesis = 13, Exodus = 2, Leviticus = 2, Deuteronomy = 21, Joshua = 2,
Judges = 4, Ruth = 1, 1 Samuel = 8, 2 Samuel = 6, 1 Kings = 4, 2 Chronicles = 4, Nehemiah = 2, Esther = 4, Job = 1, Psalms = 39, Proverbs = 23,
Ecclesiastes = 3, Solomon = 7, Isaiah = 9, Jeremiah = 10, Lamentations = 2,
Ezekiel =6, Daniel = 1, Hosea = 13, Amos = 2, Micah =1, Zechariah = 3, Malachi = 2.
Total 195 ]

http://www.biblestudytools.com/lexicons/hebrew/kjv/ahab.html

=

If the number of times a word is used shows any importance, ‘ahab (aw-hab) is a very important word. It is a verb.
Not that God is love although John tells us He is. But that we are to love Him as opposed to loving other things that are sensed in the world. (idols- including ourselves)

=

One example of love in the OT:
Ps 4:1-8 (KJ2000) ” 1 To the Chief Musician. With stringed instruments. A Psalm of David. Hear me when I call, O God of my righteousness: you have delivered me when I was in distress; have mercy upon me, and hear my prayer. 2 O you sons of men, how long will you turn my glory into shame? how long will you love vanity, and seek after falsehood? Selah. 3 But know that the LORD has set apart him that is godly for himself: the LORD will hear when I call unto him. 4 Stand in awe, and sin not: commune with your own heart upon your bed, and be still. Selah. 5 Offer the sacrifices of righteousness, and put your trust in the LORD. 6 There are many that say, Who will show us any good? LORD, lift up the light of your countenance upon us. 7 You have put gladness in my heart, more than in the time that their grain and their wine increased. 8 I will both lay me down in peace, and sleep: for you, LORD, only make me dwell in safety.”


‘God, You have put gladness in my heart.’

‘Help me not love anything other than you and the people you show me to serve. My neighbors – anyone in need.’
‘Jesus thank you for the precious gift that You are. Thank you for loving me. Be the overflow out of my life toward everyone around me to love them as you love me.’

