I don’t like being vulnerable.

I am inspired to do so by Joseph’s story, When he shared about his dream, I think that he was being vulnerable. I have heard that he was being prideful because the dream showed that he was going to rule his brothers, but I think this would have been a hard thing to share with them. I don’t think Joseph was so dumb as to not know it would make them mad. I further think that it was a personal and private dream that meant a lot to him.

I also am inspired by Jesus sharing that He is the son of God. I think Jesus knew that sharing this would make people angry and I think that it was a very personal thing for Him to reveal. Sure it sounds good but it is the core of who He is.

Recently I have discovered that I think I am a bad person. The remedy is knowing that I can do all things through Jesus (Phil 4:13). Along with this deception I fluctuate to think that I am so talented that I can do things without Jesus and the remedy also is found in the bible in John 15:5b, ” without Him I can do nothing.”
I remember my parents telling me I was bad when I did things wrong. I tried hard not to be a ‘bad boy.’ I am a talented person and can act good in front of people. So I think I am earning God’s love by acting how He wants. I am very religious and have many rules that I follow to earn God’s grace. Meanwhile I think I am dirt and I insult my creator by putting myself down.

It is very personal and I don’t like people knowing about it.

‘Father, help me to know You are good beyond a shadow of a doubt. To respect You enough to know that you have not created any person badly. Help me grow in humility so that I know You are the one responsible for all the good that is in me. Give me courage and strength to be vulnerable to You and by extension to those around me. I know you will protect me. I trust you.’
Jesus has revealed to me lately that I need to come back to the good news. He loves me. He laid down His life for me and He took my punishment so that I can freely go to God and be His friend.

‘Praise you Jesus,’
Prov 18:24 (KJ2000) ” 24 A man that has friends must show himself friendly: and there is a friend that sticks closer than a brother. ” & John 15:9-15
PS I couldn’t find vulnerable in the Bible other than these words:

Gen 42:9 (KJ2000) ” 9 And Joseph remembered the dreams which he dreamed of them, and said unto them, You are spies; to see the nakedness of the land you are come. ” & Tim 3:1-17 highlighting verse 6 ‘silly women laden with sins.’

‘Praise you Jesus for Your power. I love when you start with a verse and end with a verse. Your word is everlasting.’

(The verse is Joseph’s story and his vulnerability)

