This Chapter contains more than I can express briefly.


Mark 8:2-3 (KJ2000) ” 2 I have compassion on the multitude, because they have now been with me three days, and have nothing to eat: 3 And if I send them away fasting to their own houses, they will faint by the way: for some of them came from far.”

Mark 8:14-21 (KJ2000) ” 14 Now the disciples had forgotten to take bread, neither had they in the ship with them more than one loaf. 15 And he charged them, saying, Take heed, beware of the leaven of the Pharisees, and of the leaven of Herod. 16 And they reasoned among themselves, saying, It is because we have no bread. 17 And when Jesus knew it, he said unto them, Why reason you, because you have no bread? perceive you not yet, neither understand? have you your heart yet hardened? 18 Having eyes, see you not? and having ears, hear you not? and do you not remember? 19 When I broke the five loaves among five thousand, how many baskets full of fragments took you up? They said unto him, Twelve. 20 And when the seven among four thousand, how many baskets full of fragments took you up? And they said, Seven. 21 And he said unto them, How is it that you do not understand?”

Mark 8:22-26 (KJ2000) ” 22 And he came to Bethsaida; and they brought a blind man unto him, and besought him to touch him. 23 And he took the blind man by the hand, and led him out of the town; and when he had spit on his eyes, and put his hands upon him, he asked him if he saw anything. 24 And he looked up, and said, I see men as trees, walking. 25 After that he put his hands again upon his eyes, and made him look up: and he was restored, and saw every man clearly. 26 And he sent him away to his house, saying, Neither go into the town, nor tell it to any in the town.”


This does not seem to me that Jesus made a mistake on the first healing of the blind man but rather that the blind man did not accept or ‘get it’ on the first try.


It makes sense with what Jesus just said to His disciples. v.17 – perceive you not yet, neither understand? have you your heart yet hardened? v.18 Having eyes, see you not? and having ears, hear you not?
and do you not remember? … v.19 when I broke the five loaves.
v.21 “How is it that you do not understand?”
If I had ears to hear and eyes to see I would turn to Him and repent.

Mark 4:11-12 (KJ2000) ” 11 And he said unto them, Unto you it is given to know the mystery of the kingdom of God: but unto them that are outside, all these things are done in parables: 12 That seeing they may see, and not perceive; and hearing they may hear, and not understand; lest at any time they should be converted, and their sins should be forgiven them.”


‘Father, please forgive me.’

Matt 13:10-11 (KJ2000) ” 10 And the disciples came, and said unto him, Why do you speak unto them in parables? 11 He answered and said unto them, Because it is given unto you to know the mysteries of the kingdom of heaven, but to them it is not given.”

Matt 13:14-17 (KJ2000) ” 14 And in them is fulfilled the prophecy of Isaiah, who said, By hearing you shall hear, and shall not understand; and seeing you shall see, and shall not perceive: 15 For this people’s heart has become gross, and their ears are dull of hearing, and their eyes they have closed; lest at any time they should see with their eyes and hear with their ears, and should understand with their heart, and should be converted, and I should heal them. 16 But blessed are your eyes, for they see: and your ears, for they hear. 17 For verily I say unto you, That many prophets and righteous men have desired to see those things which you see, and have not seen them; and to hear those things which you hear, and have not heard them.”

Mark 8:29 (KJ2000) ” 29 And he said unto them, But who say you that I am? And Peter answered and said unto him, You are the Christ. ”


Mark 8:34-38 (KJ2000) ” 34 And when he had called the people unto him with his disciples also, he said unto them, Whosoever will come after me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross, and follow me. 35 For whosoever will save his life shall lose it; but whosoever shall lose his life for my sake and the gospel’s, the same shall save it. 36 For what shall it profit a man, if he shall gain the whole world, and lose his own life? 37 Or what shall a man give in exchange for his life? 38 Whosoever therefore shall be ashamed of me and of my words in this adulterous and sinful generation; of him also shall the Son of man be ashamed, when he comes in the glory of his Father with the holy angels.”


This outlines how to not loose hearing and sight of Jesus:
By taking up my cross. Delighting in the job He participates with me in.

by listening even when it disrupts my beliefs. This is hard because it seems wrong.
It is a dangerous area and that is where I must go sometimes.

Praise you Jesus.
For example. I got the idea to text Nicky about a puppy and mention the Canaanite/Serophenoecian woman who said even the dogs(puppies) get scraps.

I looked at bible translations and NONE of them say puppies. I didn’t want to misquote.
The Greek word for dog can mean puppies though.
This morning God said do it anyway. You are late now but still do it.
‘Please forgive me and give me your grace to get over myself.
Help me not seek a sign but know you and do it.’

=

Mark 8:12 (NET) ” 12 Sighing deeply in his spirit he said, “Why does this generation look for a sign? I tell you the truth, no sign will be given to this generation.” ”

Jesus gave thanks for what He had. The small fragments of food to feed many people.

I tend to think that saying thanks is a magic formula.
Being thankful is what is needed.

Delighting in God’s provision. Truly and completely.
“Thank you Jesus, for giving me all I need and for open ears and eyes and heart.”
Listen to the Word of Jesus:

=

Mark 8:15 (KJ2000) ” 15 And he charged them, saying, Take heed, beware of the leaven of the Pharisees, and of the leaven of Herod. ”

=
It is easy to see how the disciples thought of bread and went off in their minds about it.

But isn’t this exactly what Jesus is warning about.

Not to let lies and untruth leaven me.

‘Jesus protect me from error and keep me in the truth which is You.”

It is not just the poison of other people that leavens me in a bad way but my own misconceptions and deceptions. (Whether this is the devil or not doesn’t matter) Praise Jesus for being the answer and clarifier of heart hearing and sight.

 

 

