‘Jesus, cleanse me of pride

And self pity.

Help me have confidence in you only not me.  Give me grace to know I am not better than anyone.

Bless me not take credit for the glorious things you have done and do daily for me and in me.

I delight in you. Help me continue meditating on how good You are.’

“Jesus, If I had infinity to ponder and praise You. I would not come to the end of Your goodness.”


I believe this. It is not a romantic thought like I love you forever. It is a reality and a truth more real than walking on ground and breathing air. It is affirmed with every step and every breath.

Some prior blogs about pride:

https://scottraymondsite.wordpress.com/2017/01/22/god-has-a-great-hand/

https://scottraymondsite.wordpress.com/2016/10/18/gifts-presents-presence/

https://scottraymondsite.wordpress.com/2016/10/18/a-better-attitude/

https://scottraymondsite.wordpress.com/2016/10/11/all-because-of-you/

https://scottraymondsite.wordpress.com/2016/10/07/letting-go/

https://scottraymondsite.wordpress.com/2016/10/04/be-humble-3-times/

https://scottraymondsite.wordpress.com/2017/02/16/cleansed-and-purged/

It seems I blog a lot about humility. I admit it is because I often struggle with pride issues.
Even talking about pride is beginning to do the wrong thing because I am thinking about a tendency that I have rather than the solution He has which is love. Love of Him first then love of other people. The bad pride is always looking to put myself first instead of serving. It looks for how I can take care of me or manipulate others instead of what they need.

It is related to doing God’s will. Do I know that He knows what is best for me? Do I trust Jesus? Or am I acting as though I know better without consulting Him and mistrusting Him. It requires repentance and honesty.


Heb 12:2-5 (NET) “2 keeping our eyes fixed on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of our faith. For the joy set out for him he endured the cross, disregarding its shame, and has taken his seat at the right hand of the throne of God.3 Think of him who endured such opposition against himself by sinners, so that you may not grow weary in your souls and give up.4 You have not yet resisted to the point of bloodshed in your struggle against sin.5 And have you forgotten the exhortation addressed to you as sons? “My son, do not scorn the Lord’s discipline or give up when he corrects you.”

Pride often begins with being self absorbed.

When I get a cut it causes me to focus on myself. I start worrying if it will heal and try to find ways to make the pain go away.

A better reaction would be to turn to Jesus. Ask Him for healing. And ask Him what to do with it.
There is a depth in the Bible that reaches to infinity.
It is like when someone says I love you. It is not a simple fact that is known and does not need to be reiterated. It has depth also in knowing the other person and myself.

It is good to get to know myself while remembering that only my true self can only be found in Jesus.

“A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.”
John 13:34-35 NIV

Is love the opposite of pride? In some ways. In the way that my self absorption and egoism battles His servant love that I am called by Him to act through me by my devotion to Him.


John 3:16-17 (KJ2000) “16 For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believes in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.17 For God sent not his Son into the world to condemn the world; but that the world through him might be saved.”


I’m not sure that this verse is for beginners. I heard it when I first became a Christian but I did not believe it. I have told several people who aren’t saved that God loves them and they are not very receptive to say the least.

No, right now it is my call not theirs. Mine is to love them because He loves me. Not tell them I love them or even that He does. Although He will lead me there. But to truly love and appreciate all of His creations. It is part of appreciating Him. I appreciate an artist by admiring His work.

I am not here to judge and preach to the ‘evil’ people.
Father, forgive me for judging. Please take that out of me,
It is insecurity based. I worry that I am not enough and don’t measure up. ‘God, I am not enough without you. With You, we are more than enough for every situation and every person you send for me to be with today.’
This prayer is not prideful. It is another slippery slope to have false humility. It is the sorry for myself and I am great because I say that I am utterly humble. I also have to see myself as He sees me. I too am a work of art to be appreciated.

Thank you Jesus.

attitude: Don’t dread things. Be thankful.


CEB People who are self-centered aren’t able to please God.
The KJV says in the flesh and this seems the more accurate translation: Rom 8:8 (KJ2000) “8 So then they that are in the flesh cannot please God. ”
But how similar is self-centered to ‘in the flesh?
I think self-centered describes being in the flesh pretty well.

ERV Those who are ruled by their sinful selves cannot please God.

GW Those who are under the control of the corrupt nature can’t please God.

TLB That’s why those who are still under the control of their old sinful selves, bent on following their old evil desires, can never please God.

MSG Those who think they can do it on their own end up obsessed with measuring their own moral muscle but never get around to exercising it in real life. Those who trust God’s action in them find that God’s Spirit is in them—living and breathing God! Obsession with self in these matters is a dead end; attention to God leads us out into the open, into a spacious, free life. Focusing on the self is the opposite of focusing on God. Anyone completely absorbed in self ignores God, ends up thinking more about self than God. That person ignores who God is and what he is doing. And God isn’t pleased at being ignored.

(WE) People who do what their bodies want cannot please God.

I like this last one too. It does not mean we can not eat or drink but if I would rather drink now instead of caring for the dying person in front of me then there is a problem. Its about what rules me. Is my body disciplined enough to be a good servant?

Rom 13:14 (KJ2000) “14 But put on the Lord Jesus Christ, and make not provision for the flesh, to fulfill the lusts thereof. ”
ICB But clothe yourselves with the Lord Jesus Christ. Forget about satisfying your sinful self.

I think clothes are something very close to me. They are the first layer next to my naked body. Who is my best and closest friend? Jesus, Jesus, only Jesus.

PS  when I was spell checking the options for servant included serpent.  Isn’t that foreboding?  Who will I choose to serve?

‘Praise You, Jesus,  give me grace to choose You over and over more often more deeply forever.’

