First I had the idea to find 8’s.

So I found 8 verse 8’s that I liked in Psalms:

1 Ps 31:8 You do not deliver me over to the power of the enemy; you enable me to stand in a wide open place.

2 Ps 7:8 The LORD judges the nations. Vindicate me, LORD, because I am innocent, because I am blameless, O Exalted One!

3 Ps 34:8 Taste and see that the LORD is good! How blessed is the one who takes shelter in him!
4 Ps 42:8 By day the LORD decrees his loyal love, and by night he gives me a song, a prayer to the living God.

5 Ps 51:8 Grant me the ultimate joy of being forgiven! May the bones you crushed rejoice

6 Ps 52:8 But I am like a flourishing olive tree in the house of God; I continually trust in God’s loyal love.

7 Ps 39:8 Deliver me from all my sins of rebellion! Do not make me the object of fools’ insults!

8 Ps 62:8 Trust in him at all times, you people! Pour out your hearts before him! God is our shelter! (Selah)

I saw some verses I like and have heard often like ‘taste and see the LORD is good’.

Others were new and interesting like ‘deliver me from all my sins of rebellion.’

The last one struck me real deep. I needed to pour out my heart before Him.

I’m not sure why I went to Corinthians next.  Partially because I am an over thinker like them.  Mostly because the impression came that I should examine what the gospel really is.


(1Cor 2:6-10) But we speak wisdom among them that are mature: yet not the wisdom of this world, nor of the princes of this world, that come to nothing:
(7) But we speak the wisdom of God in a mystery, even the hidden wisdom, which God ordained before the world unto our glory:
(8 *) Which none of the princes of this world knew: for had they known it, they would not have crucified the Lord of glory.
(9) But as it is written, Eye has not seen, nor ear heard, neither have entered into the heart of man, the things which God has prepared for them that love him.
(10) But God has revealed them unto us by his Spirit: for the Spirit searches all things, yea, the deep things of God.

-I felt bad.  I don’t want to crucify Jesus.
(1Cor 2:1) And I, brethren, when I came to you, came not with excellency of speech or of wisdom, declaring unto you the testimony of God.
(1Cor 2:2) For I determined not to know anything among you, except Jesus Christ, and him crucified.
(1Cor 2:3) And I was with you in weakness, and in fear, and in much trembling.
(1Cor 2:4) And my speech and my preaching were not with enticing words of man’s wisdom, but in demonstration of the Spirit and of power:
(1Cor 2:5) That your faith should not stand in the wisdom of men, but in the power of God.
(John 17:3) And this is life eternal, that they might know you the only true God, and Jesus Christ, whom you have sent.
(1John 5:18-21) We know that whosoever is born of God sins not; but he that is begotten of God keeps himself, and that wicked one touches him not.
(19) And we know that we are of God, and the whole world lies in wickedness.
(20) And we know that the Son of God is come, and has given us an understanding, that we may know him that is true, and we are in him that is true, even in his Son Jesus Christ. This is the true God, and eternal life.
(21) Little children, keep yourselves from idols. Amen.


What is the good news? That there is an answer to all my questions. I don’t know that answer but I am growing to know the one who does. – Jesus.

Where does Jesus live. What is His facebook address?

Come and see.
(John 1:38) Then Jesus turned, and saw them following, and said unto them, What seek you? They said unto him, Rabbi, (which is to say, being interpreted, Teacher,) where do you dwell?
(John 1:39) He said unto them, Come and see. They came and saw where he dwelt, and abode with him that day: for it was about the tenth hour.


Jesus is not hidden. We are blind. He lives right beside us at all times.


How could I be so blind? It doesn’t matter. He heals blindness.


(Matt 11:4) Jesus answered and said unto them, Go and show John again those things which you do hear and see:
(Matt 11:5) The blind receive their sight, and the lame walk, the lepers are cleansed, and the deaf hear, the dead are raised up, and the poor have the gospel preached to them.
(Matt 11:6) And blessed is he, whosoever shall not be offended in me.
(Matt 9:27) And when Jesus departed from there, two blind men followed him, crying, and saying, Son of David, have mercy on us.
(Matt 9:28) And when he came into the house, the blind men came to him: and Jesus said unto them, You believe that I am able to do this? They said unto him, Yes, Lord.
(Matt 9:29) Then touched he their eyes, saying, According to your faith be it unto you.
(Matt 9:30) And their eyes were opened; and Jesus sternly charged them, saying, See that no man knows it.
Don’t study blindness. Study Jesus.

(Matt 20:29) And as they departed from Jericho, a great multitude followed him.
(Matt 20:30) And, behold, two blind men sitting by the wayside, when they heard that Jesus passed by, cried out, saying, Have mercy on us, O Lord, you son of David.
(Matt 20:31) And the multitude rebuked them, that they should hold their peace: but they cried the more, saying, Have mercy on us, O Lord, you son of David.
(Matt 20:32) And Jesus stood still, and called them, and said, What will you that I shall do unto you?
(Matt 20:33) They said unto him, Lord, that our eyes may be opened.
(Matt 20:34) So Jesus had compassion on them, and touched their eyes: and immediately their eyes received sight, and they followed him.


Why do the blind people hang out together? Because they do not ask each other, ‘did you see that?’ and ‘look over there.’

See what Jesus did? Look at Jesus.
I can have a hard life. Looking at wrong things. Falling in ditches Or…

I can follow Him and see what that is like.

(Matt 15:10) And he called the multitude, and said unto them, Hear, and understand:
(Matt 15:11) Not that which goes into the mouth defiles a man; but that which comes out of the mouth, this defiles a man.
(Matt 15:12) Then came his disciples, and said unto him, Know you that the Pharisees were offended, after they heard this saying?
(Matt 15:13) But he answered and said, Every plant, which my heavenly Father has not planted, shall be rooted up.
(Matt 15:14) Let them alone: they are blind leaders of the blind. And if the blind lead the blind, both shall fall into the ditch.


Let me step away from the prescribed interpretation that the Pharisees were being too religious. Their rule was to be careful what you eat. Spiritually it is good to be careful what is taken in.
These rules of eating were given to them by God. They were doing the right thing according to what they thought was right. They were not bad people trying to sin.

Their blindness was in the form of self righteousness instead of Jesus consciousness.

Even my rules of love towards people must be broken. Only the Spirit of Jesus must rule.

There are clues in the beginning verses of this chapter:


(Matt 15:1) Then came to Jesus scribes and Pharisees, who were from Jerusalem, saying,(Matt 15:2) Why do your disciples transgress the tradition of the elders? for they wash not their hands when they eat bread. (Matt 15:3) But he answered and said unto them, Why do you also transgress the commandment of God by your tradition?
(Matt 15:4) For God commanded, saying, Honor your father and mother: and, He that curses father or mother, let him die the death.
(Matt 15:5) But you say, Whosoever shall say to his father or his mother, It is a gift devoted to God, whatsoever you might have received from me;
(Matt 15:6) And honors not his father or his mother, he shall be free. Thus have you made the commandment of God void by your tradition.
(Matt 15:7) You hypocrites, well did Isaiah prophesy of you, saying,
(Matt 15:8*) These people draw near unto me with their mouth, and honor me with their lips; but their heart is far from me.
(Matt 15:9) But in vain they do worship me, teaching for doctrines the commandments of men.


It is like me giving my tithe instead of taking care of my family.
Instead of hearing what God tells me to do with it I am following a rule = ‘give the tithe’

The real key is verse 8. I must have my heart near to Jesus.
Thank you God for 8 today. Bring my heart to you.
I love how you work. I did not expect this. Everything you do is a gift.
Thank you for the present. and Your presence.

PS notice two things.

The 8 key is also the * key.

What Jesus said to me is Matt 15:8

(Matt 15:8*) These people draw near unto me with their mouth, and honor me with their lips; but their heart is far from me.

All this preliminary leading and searching for one simple verse.  And He knows me.  And He speaks to my heart and to what I need precisely right now.

Thank you Jesus for drawing my heart to you.  Forgive me for honoring you with my lips and not my heart.  I love you.

