Sometimes I get a real red flag in the form of a question. Today that question was ‘Am I holy enough?”

How often do I excuse my behavior by thinking I am holy enough.

I need humility and forgiveness for this horrible behavior/thought.

I need Jesus.

The passage that brought this to light in my understanding is from NIV Col 1:22 “But now he has reconciled you by Christ’s physical body through death to present you holy in his sight, without blemish and free from accusation—”
I want to leave you here because it is enough to think about.

Be still and know Jesus is God. Calm down. Take as much time as you need. It is your tithe of time and you will have plenty of time for everything else because you took time out for God.
2.4 hours or approx. 2 and a half hours.


(Col 1:21) And you, that were once alienated and enemies in your mind by wicked works, yet now has he reconciled


in your mind – G1271 (Mickelson’s Enhanced Strong’s Greek and Hebrew Dictionaries)
G1271 διάνοια dianoia (dee-an’-oy-ah) n.
1. deep thought, contemplation
2. (properly) the mind (or its disposition), the faculty
3. (by implication) its exercise, i.e. purposeful mental activity
[from G1223 and G3563]
KJV: imagination, mind, understanding
Root(s): G1223, G3563
dianoia = deep thought

” Dianoia is a term used by Plato for a type of thinking, specifically about mathematical and technical subjects. It is the capacity for, process of, or result of discursive thinking, in contrast with the immediate apprehension that is characteristic of noesis. In Aristotle, knowledge is further divided into the theoretical, and the practical, which includes techne and phronesis.”. -www.definitions.net/definition/dianoia

Context of dianoia in other bible verses:
(Matt 22:37) Jesus said unto him, You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your mind.
= mind

(Eph 1:18) The eyes of your understanding being enlightened; that ye may know what is the hope of his calling, and what the riches of the glory of his inheritance in the saints,
= understanding


Apparently Greek has several other words for mind that English does not have like nous.

(Eph 4:18) Having the understanding darkened, being alienated from the life of God through the ignorance that is in them, because of the blindness of their heart:
(Eph 4:19) Who being past feeling have given themselves over unto licentiousness, to work all uncleanness with greediness.
= understanding

(Heb 8:10) For this is the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel after those days, says the Lord; I will put my laws into their mind, and write them in their hearts: and I will be to them a God, and they shall be to me a people:
= mind

(Heb 10:16) This is the covenant that I will make with them after those days, says the Lord, I will put my laws into their hearts, and in their minds will I write them;
= mind

I am struck by the importance of the texts where dianoia is used. New covenant and Old.

(1Pet 1:13) Therefore gird up the loins of your mind, be sober, and hope to the end for the grace that is to be brought unto you at the revelation of Jesus Christ;
(1Pet 1:14) As obedient children, not fashioning yourselves according to the former lusts in your ignorance:
(1Pet 1:15) But as he who has called you is holy, so be holy in all manner of conduct;
(1Pet 1:16) Because it is written, You will be holy; for I am holy.
amazing grace: ‘who taught my heart to fear… and all my fear relieved.’
What is the difference in English between mind and understanding?
“Definition of mind
1: recollection, memory
2 a : the element or complex (see 1 complex 1) of elements in an individual that feels, perceives, thinks, wills, and especially reasons
b : the conscious mental events and capabilities in an organism
c : the organized conscious and unconscious adaptive mental activity of an organism
3 : intention, desire
4 : the normal or healthy condition of the mental faculties
5 : opinion, view
6 : disposition, mood <He’s in a bad state of mind.>
7 a : a person or group embodying mental qualities b : intellectual ability 8 capitalized, Christian Science : god 1b
9 : a conscious substratum or factor in the universe
10 : attention ”
-https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/mind

“Definition of understanding
1 : a mental grasp : comprehension
2 a : the power of comprehending; especially : the capacity to apprehend general relations of particulars
b : the power to make experience intelligible by applying concepts and categories
3 a : friendly or harmonious relationship
b : an agreement of opinion or feeling : adjustment of differences
c : a mutual agreement not formally entered into but in some degree binding on each side
4 : explanation, interpretation
5 : sympathy 3a” -https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/understanding

One speaks of the power to change the mind. One does not speak often of changing one’s understanding.
Understanding involves making sense or some relationship to the truth. ‘Do you understand?’ or ‘You are not understanding me.’

When I say I don’t understand and could more elaboration occur so I can come to understand, it is a relationship I am looking for. I need some connection to what I understand already. Like learning Math. I go from building block to the next level up.
Mind is more static. I can love God with all my mind by being preoccupied with Him. Thinking about Him, keeping my eyes on Him and reasoning with Him.

I can love Him with all my understanding by continuing to move to higher levels in understanding the truth that is found in Him. By connecting His holiness more completely to my own holiness.

This is exciting because if things I understand incorrectly point me away from God I know they are misunderstandings.

(Col 1:21 NET) And you were at one time strangers and enemies in your minds as expressed through your evil deeds,
(Col 1:22) but now he has reconciled you by his physical body through death to present you holy, without blemish, and blameless before him –

(Col 1:21 KJV2000) And you, that were once alienated and enemies in your mind by wicked works, yet now has he reconciled
(Col 1:22) In the body of his flesh through death, to present you holy and unblamable and unreprovable in his sight:
What is with the seperation of verse change at ‘now he has reconciled you…’?
(Col 1:22 NIV) But now he has reconciled you by Christ’s physical body through death to present you holy in his sight, without blemish and free from accusation—

