salt
God’s word is like a breath it expands and contracts. Take the word salt for instance, I think I know what it means – that little white grain that comes out of my salt shaker.

But I forgot about rock salt that I use to melt my sidewalk and sea salt that keeps a lot of fish alive in the ocean and salt fertilizer and salt water softener and salt on a wound and salty people.

I wouldn’t say the connotation of a salty person is good. It seems it is a person who swears a lot and has some seafaring experience.

When it all contracts back into the point where it started. God makes us salt for other people to consume. I can become that tiny white grain for those in my life to increase their thirst for His righteousness and love. I can make their lives more enjoyable and flavorful. How great is that?
‘How great are you God, three in one?’

More expansions:

(Mark 9:50) Salt is good: but if the salt has lost its saltiness, how will you season it? Have salt in yourselves, and have peace one with another.

(Lev 2:13) And every offering of your grain offering shall you season with salt; neither shall you allow the salt of the covenant of your God to be lacking from your grain offering: with all your offerings you shall offer salt.
(Lev 2:14) And if you offer a grain offering of your first fruits unto the LORD, you shall offer for the grain offering of your first fruits green ears of grain dried by the fire, even grain beaten out of full ears.
Lately I have not been physically thirsty. I find that if I eat something salty I become thirsty and my desire to drink water increases.

Generally I understand that loosing my christian ‘saltiness’ renders me useless. This might meant that I am not being loving.
I think it means two things. There must be a third. First that I must turn to Jesus to be filled with His saltiness. To be filled with His relevant word. To be filled with His love. To thirst for Him and drink of the water that He gives to eternal life. He makes me salty.

Second to be loving to people. To be salt for those around me. Then I am useful.
Third might be the righteous factor. Pure salt has good saltiness and impure depending on how diluted and poluted it is has no saltiness what so ever and must be discarded.
‘Purify me, Jesus as you are pure through the trials of this world.’
A virgin is one thing. Someone who then is no longer a virgin but becomes pure through re-birth in Christ is a spiritual virgin which is better than the first physical virgin. Because nothing can take away this pureness unless it is voluntarily resigned.
One more meaning of salt. It is arid like the desert. Sometimes referred to as the ‘salt place’.
It is the oposite of water. It makes us thirsty. Could there be a relationship between my weakness and His flowing strength? I think there is. In my weakness He is strong. I think of examples at work when I feel worn out and yet I can still persist because of Jesus. Is this salt for other people? Do they notice the impossible persistance that is possible through Jesus?
Salt by itself does not seem to represent purity but saltiness can bring one to life. It is like having a desert experience. Sometimes fasting is good to bring me to Jesus.

(Col 4:5) Walk in wisdom toward them that are outsiders, redeeming the time.
(Col 4:6) Let your speech be always with grace, seasoned with salt, that you may know how you ought to answer every man.
We need some salt to live and salt is in the ocean.

You can preserve meat with salt as in ham.

Just thinking about salt makes my mouth water. ‘Jesus I thirst for you and only you.’
‘have salt in yourselves…’
Salt can also represent a covenant:

(Num 18:19) All the heave offerings of the holy things, which the children of Israel offer unto the LORD, have I given you, and your sons and your daughters with you, by a statute forever: it is a covenant of salt forever before the LORD unto you and to your descendants with you.
Salt heals.

Salt is precious.

Salt protects
might help fertilization. Am I fertilizing the soil of those around me and keeping my soil good?
Salt also softens and melts
(Matt 5:6) Blessed are they who do hunger and thirst after righteousness: for they shall be filled.
(Matt 5:13) You are the salt of the earth: but if the salt has lost its savor, how shall it be salted? it is thereafter good for nothing, but to be cast out, and to be trodden under foot of men.

“If you want to be salt of the earth you have to get dirty. We have it all backwards. We want to love people once they change but Scripture is clear, “God demonstrates his own love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us” quote 3(Rom. 5:8) leaving us an example to follow. We want to avoid the immoral people of the world like they are lepers, but God tells us they are not who we should be worried about; it’s hypocritical Christians we are to avoid! (1 Cor. 5:9-11).”
http://sheffieldchapel.org/articles/3-misunderstood-biblical-metaphors-part-2/
http://www.livingwaterpublications.org/salt_of_the_earth.php

“While the best argument against Christianity is faulty Christians, the best argument for Christ is salty Christians! Growing up, I met hundreds of hypocritical Christians who feigned belief but had little to do with Jesus Christ in their hearts. They regularly went to church and regularly left without living any differently than when they arrived. Having met them helped me decide that I didn’t believe in God. But something happened when I began to go to the Salvation Army’s evening service with my girlfriend (who is now my wife). I met people who were different … really different. They wore old-fashioned uniforms and played band music that seemed to be from the late 1800’s. I was thinking, “What is this all about?” Yet, I couldn’t shake the fact that they really believed in God and truly believed the Bible — they were so salty! Over time, they kept rubbing off on me little by little, making me more and more thirsty for the things of God. Finally, one day I literally ran to the altar to become a Christian. I couldn’t wait any longer to drink of the living water of Jesus Christ and satisfy my thirst for Him. ”
http://www.livingwaterpublications.org/salt_of_the_earth.php
According the insight of Urban Dictionary, “salty,” when used as a slang term, can be used to describe someone who is “angry, agitated, or upset,” as well as someone who is “mean, annoying, and repulsive.”Jul 24, 2015

 

Of course this is not the salty I am striving for.  There is always a twist in wayward directions of this world on perfect spiritual things.  Salt is good and I want to be a salty person.  Although not angry or mean but cultivating and encouraging.

