Yesterday at work I was praying for God to tell me what He wants me to do. I wasn’t asking for the next thing to do but rather for a ministry so I could look good. I phrased it in a way that sounded more like I was interested in helping Him out rather than the truth which was that I wanted to become important by being popular and needed.
God called me out on it. He asked me if I really wanted to do something for Him or if I just wanted to be important. He asked, ‘Do you think you can fool me?’

I immediately felt humbled.

I liked the idea of asking for something for Him instead of something for me. But the truth was it was for me in a religious way.

‘Praise you Jesus. You are a good Father.’
(1Tim 2:1) I exhort therefore, that, first of all, supplications, prayers, intercessions, and giving of thanks, be made for all men;
(1Tim 2:2) For kings, and for all that are in authority; that we may lead a quiet and peaceable life in all godliness and honesty.
(1Tim 2:3) For this is good and acceptable in the sight of God our Savior;
(1Tim 2:4) Who will have all men to be saved, and to come unto the knowledge of the truth.
(1Tim 2:5) For there is one God, and one mediator between God and men, the man Christ Jesus;
(1Tim 2:6) Who gave himself a ransom for all, this to be a testimony at the proper time.
(1Tim 2:7) To this I am ordained a preacher, and an apostle, (I speak the truth in Christ, and lie not;) a teacher of the Gentiles in faith and truth.
(1Tim 2:8) I desire therefore that men pray everywhere, lifting up holy hands, without wrath and doubting.

v. 2 honesty = semnotes
(Titus 2:1) But you speak the things which become sound doctrine:
(Titus 2:2) That the aged men be sensible, grave, temperate, sound in faith, in love, in patience.
(Titus 2:3) The aged women likewise, that they be in behavior as becomes holiness, not false accusers, not given to much wine, teachers of good things;
(Titus 2:4) That they may teach the young women to be sensible, to love their husbands, to love their children,
(Titus 2:5) To be discreet, chaste, keepers at home, good, obedient to their own husbands, that the word of God be not blasphemed.
(Titus 2:6) Young men likewise exhort to be sensible.
(Titus 2:7) In all things showing yourself a pattern of good works: in doctrine showing incorruptness, gravity, sincerity,
(Titus 2:8) Sound speech, that cannot be condemned; that he that is an opponent may be ashamed, having no evil thing to say of you.
(Titus 2:9) Exhort servants to be obedient unto their own masters, and to please them well in all things; not talking back;
(Titus 2:10) Not pilfering, but showing all good fidelity; that they may adorn the doctrine of God our Savior in all things.
(Titus 2:11) For the grace of God that brings salvation has appeared to all men,
(Titus 2:12) Teaching us that, denying ungodliness and worldly lusts, we should live sensibly, righteously, and godly, in this present world;
(Titus 2:13) Looking for that blessed hope, and the glorious appearing of the great God and our Savior Jesus Christ;
(Titus 2:14) Who gave himself for us, that he might redeem us from all iniquity, and purify unto himself a people for his own, zealous of good works.
(Titus 2:15) These things speak, and exhort, and rebuke with all authority. Let no man despise you.

v. 7 – Gravity = semnotes, Sincerity = aphtharsia
(Rom 2:7) To them who by patient continuance in well doing seek for glory and honor and immortality, eternal life:
immortality = aphtharsia

(1Cor 15:53) For this corruptible must put on incorruption, and this mortal must put on immortality.
incorruption = aphtharsia
(Eph 6:24) Grace be with all them that love our Lord Jesus Christ in sincerity. Amen.
(2Tim 1:10) But is now made manifest by the appearing of our Savior Jesus Christ, who has abolished death, and has brought life and immortality to light through the gospel:
immortality = aphtharsia

So in Greek sincerity is the same word as immortality and incorruption.
Kind of like the pureness of heaven.
‘Dad, God, make my heart pure like You created it to be. Purify me so I may enter into your perfect heaven at the end of my days.’

I remember wondering in English what is the difference between honesty and sincerity.
I forget the answers. Help me remember Jesus.
Can I be honest and not sincere? If I am blunt (no empathy)
Can I be sincere and not honest. no. if by stretching it I believe what I say but what I say is not true. I sincerely think incorrectly. I wouldn’t honestly think incorrectly if I remember the connotation of honesty that includes honor and virtue.
“sincere |sinˈsi(ə)r| adjective ( -cerer , -cerest ) free from pretense or deceit; proceeding from genuine feelings : they offer their sincere thanks to Paul. • (of a person) saying what they genuinely feel or believe; not dishonest or hypocritical.
honest |ˈänist| adjective free of deceit and untruthfulness; sincere : I haven’t been totally honest with you. • morally correct or virtuous : I did the only right and honest thing. • [ attrib. ] fairly earned, esp. through hard work : struggling to make an honest living. • (of an action) blameless or well intentioned even if unsuccessful or misguided : he’d made an honest mistake. • [ attrib. ] simple, unpretentious, and unsophisticated : good honest food with no gimmicks.
As you see, the meanings of the two words intersect, but there are real points of difference in some of the senses. There are cases where you would not substitute one for the other. Sincere is hardly going to be understood to mean “simple, unpretentious, and unsophisticated” for example. And honest has more to do with veracity than feelings.” -http://english.stackexchange.com/questions/23737/is-honest-a-suitable-synonym-for-sincere

 
Why does the word sincere have the word sin in it? Perhaps because people can never be completely sincere while here on earth.
That doesn’t mean I should give up on it though. ‘Jesus help me become more sincere as you are completely true and honest about it.’
This is all a distraction anyway. The point is that it is important for me to be honest and sincere.
The point is that God knows what’s in my heart so why try to be fake with Him?
Don’t treat Jesus as you would an earthly friend trying not to hurt His feelings. You already hurt His feelings when you nailed Him to the cross.

 
(Ps 139:1) To the Chief Musician. A Psalm of David. O LORD, you have searched me, and known me.
(Ps 139:2) You know my downsitting and my uprising, you understand my thought afar off.
(Ps 139:3) You search out my path and my lying down, and are acquainted with all my ways.
(Ps 139:4) For there is not a word in my tongue, but, lo, O LORD, you know it altogether.
(Ps 139:5) You have hedged me behind and before, and laid your hand upon me.
(Ps 139:6) Such knowledge is too wonderful for me; it is high, I cannot attain unto it.
(Ps 139:7) Where shall I go from your Spirit? or where shall I flee from your presence?
(Ps 139:8) If I ascend up into heaven, you are there: if I make my bed in Sheol, behold, you are there.
(Ps 139:9) If I take the wings of the morning, and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea;
(Ps 139:10) Even there shall your hand lead me, and your right hand shall hold me.
(Ps 139:11) If I say, Surely the darkness shall cover me; even the night shall be light about me.
(Ps 139:12) Yea, the darkness hides not from you; but the night shines as the day: the darkness and the light are both alike to you.
(Ps 139:13) For you have formed my inward parts: you have covered me in my mother’s womb.
(Ps 139:14) I will praise you; for I am fearfully and wonderfully made: marvelous are your works; and that my soul knows right well.
(Ps 139:15) My frame was not hid from you, when I was made in secret, and skillfully wrought in the lowest parts of the earth.
(Ps 139:16) Your eyes did see my substance, being yet unformed; and in your book they were all written, the days fashioned for me, when as yet there were none of them.
(Ps 139:17) How precious also are your thoughts unto me, O God! how great is the sum of them!
(Ps 139:18) If I should count them, they are more in number than the sand: when I awake, I am still with you.
(Ps 139:19) Surely you will slay the wicked, O God: depart from me therefore, you bloody men.
(Ps 139:20) For they speak against you wickedly, and your enemies take your name in vain.
(Ps 139:21) Do not I hate them, O LORD, that hate you? and am not I grieved with those that rise up against you?
(Ps 139:22) I hate them with perfect hatred: I count them my enemies.
(Ps 139:23) Search me, O God, and know my heart: try me, and know my thoughts:
(Ps 139:24) And see if there be any wicked way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.

 

Am I courageous enough to pray like David did? I want to run. i want to hide because I know there are things in me that are not pure clean and good for God to see.
But He knows them already.
Sometimes I have forgotten them so often as a habit that I actually am blind to them. For example, I believed my Father was a good dad. As far as earthly fathers go, he was pretty good. Even now this excuse for him is my first defense. He was a tyrant. A scary selfish person.
I’m afraid to judge my dad. I don’t want to judge others when I am the one to be judged first. I want to respect my father and not think bad things about him. Yes, he is human and makes mistakes and God loves him and I need to honor and respect him. But honestly He hurt me and scared me and made me feel unacceptable and abandoned. Whether this was his fault or my own or a combination doesn’t matter. I need to admit that I was abandoned and hurt and unaccepted.

If I don’t grasp reality there is no hope of forgiveness.
1 – I forgive Him. ‘Dad, God, fill that gaping hole of unacceptableness and insecurity with your steadfast honest love. I need you desperately. Thank you for your wisdom and gentleness.’

