sunup

I want to start with a passage that I found that goes right to the point of how to get revelation:
(Matt 11:25 -30 ) At that time Jesus said, “I praise You, Father, Lord of heaven and earth, because You have hidden these things from the wise and learned and revealed them to infants.  Yes, Father, because this was Your good pleasure.
All things have been entrusted to Me by My Father. No one knows the Son except the Father, and no one knows the Father except the Son and anyone to whom the Son desires to reveal Him.
“Come to Me, all of you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.
All of you, take up My yoke and learn from Me, because I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for yourselves.  For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.”

 

This is a supreme passage. Jesus shows us how to get revelation by turning to Him.
v. 27 ‘and anyone to whom the son desires to reveal Him…’

Don’t get all distracted by predestination and such. I guarantee that Jesus will reveal God to everyone. We are predestined only after we turn and repent and believe in Him. It’s a weird paradox because God already knows what we will choose in the end. The thing about this that God loves everyone just as much even when He knows they will ultimately not choose Him.

The point about verse 27 that I’m looking at though is. Jesus reveals.
The second thing I see is verse 25. He is revealing these things to infants. It feels like a direction to be like children. Not to be overly wise. I know God gives us wisdom and helps me grow in wisdom about spiritual things. Imagine though if I thought I know all I need to then I would have no appetite for growth. In fact, aren’t children growing.
Yes. this is an important fact about children. They are not fully grown yet.

The third and final thing I see is verse 29. Learn from Jesus. Because He is humble and gentle in heart.
I want to say that we should strive to be gentle and humble in heart, but the passage really is focusing me on Jesus. If I want revelation and my light to pop on I need to learn from Him. He is humble and gentle in heart. This is the first revelation and it is a good one. The momma of all revelation.

“Jesus help me take up your yoke. I love you and am growing in understanding that you love me but I believe you do and I hope I will more so. Thank you for being the gentle one and the humble one. May your humility flow through me to those who need you. Help me stay focused on what is being revealed – You. It’s all about you.”

 

 

One more thing. Notice He says His burden is light. Is this a play on words? As revelation means light, could revelation come by taking on His burden, by taking up our cross by being yoked to Him.

Unfortunately the Greek word is not light, but it’s still an interesting note in the English.

