rays3-copyWhat I learned today about letting go:

Fear makes me not want to let go.
Caring about the wrong things makes me not want to let go.
Self defense and anger make me not want to let go.

I will share one verse:

(1Pet 5:5) Likewise, you younger, submit yourselves unto the elder. Yea, all of you be subject one to another, and be clothed with humility: for God resists the proud, and gives grace to the humble.
(1Pet 5:6) Humble yourselves therefore under the mighty hand of God, that he may exalt you in due time:
(1Pet 5:7) Casting all your care upon him; for he cares for you.

notice the context. Humility. Submission.

Casting = G1977 (Mickelson’s Enhanced Strong’s Greek and Hebrew Dictionaries)
G1977 ἐπιρῥίπτω epirrhipto (ep-ir-rhip’-to) v.
1. to throw upon
{literally or figuratively}
[from G1909 and G4496]
KJV: cast upon
Root(s): G1909, G4496

care – G3308 (Mickelson’s Enhanced Strong’s Greek and Hebrew Dictionaries)
G3308 μέριμνα merimna (mer’-im-nah) n.
1. solicitude
[from G3307 (through the idea of distraction)]
KJV: care
Root(s): G3307
Notice in v. 7 it says “all your” distractions

He cares = G3199 (Mickelson’s Enhanced Strong’s Greek and Hebrew Dictionaries)
G3199 μέλω melo (mel’-o) v.
1. to be of interest to, i.e. to concern (only third person singular present indicative used impersonally, it matters)
[a primary verb]
KJV: (take) care

He takes care of us.

What a great verse. At first it is confusing but then it opens up. Because of Holy Spirit.

I like to see what all translations I have available translate:
I don’t see any of them saying cast your distractions.
I guess distractions is implied in worries and anxieties. Although I’m not ‘worried’ about all my distractions.

It is interesting though. Is English inherently more worried and anxious than other languages?

Spanish for care is cuidado
cuidado means watch out

Spanish for cares = cuidados
cuidados – can mean careful, treatment, looked after in the hospital

who cares = ¿qué más da? – meaning who cares?..
Which brings me to the grand conclusion.
I wouldn’t get mad if I didn’t care.
and I care about way too many other things than the one thing, Jesus, who only matters.
‘Father, I am sorry for caring about things other than You and You as Jesus and You as Holy Spirit. Please give me forgiveness and grace to do better. I love you with all of me.’

